Author Topic: thread maker tool  (Read 42077 times)

Offline akisTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
thread maker tool
« on: June 16, 2014, 01:00:14 pm »
I would like to drill a hole on a heatsink so as to screw in directly M3 size screws without needing a nut at the other side. These tools are called "machine taps" or something like that, but I have no experience with them. The screws I am using are pretty standard they are listed as "M3 x 0.5mm pitch". I typically use a nut on the opposite end, but in this case I will not have access to the back side so instead of drilling a 3mm hole I need to drill a threaded hole to screw into it directly. Can someone tell me how it is best done?

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
Re: thread maker tool
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 01:09:06 pm »
2.5mm hole and use the set of 3 thread cutters - set of 3 to gradually cut the thread - you need to make 1 pass witch each cutter. and don't forget the oil ! you have to lubricate the cutters in order to avoid excessive wear. (ok. aluminium is soft, but anyways...)
there are also single pass cutters , but i don't like them - they are introducing much more stress to the material being cut.

Offline rob77

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2014, 01:19:59 pm »
forgot to mention - the oil don't have to be cutting oil (the one used when machining steel), i'm using silicone oil when cutting threads to aluminium, but any oil would do the job for aluminium (except vegetable oils :D )

so basically this is all you need:

Offline akisTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2014, 01:47:41 pm »
Damn I just bought on ebay a single 3mm thread cutter, did not see anything in "three parts" ?? http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/331013438009?_trksid=p2059210.m2749.l2649&var=540232986841&ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT

Can I use vaseline or engine oil (synthetic) instead ? I mean we are talking less than a drop of oil right?

Offline Stray Electron

• Super Contributor