Author Topic: UPS Inverter Batteries  (Read 4377 times)

Offline aaronTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
UPS Inverter Batteries
« on: March 16, 2014, 12:08:05 am »
Hi Guys,

I was wondering if any of you had experience with UPS batteries. I'm considering buying a cheap 1500W inverter off of eBay. The problem is, well, I'm not really an expert, and there's no online documentation available, so I'm not sure what batteries are used.

I would assume (Gel) / Lead Acids and Valve Reg would all be fine, but I'd like to be a little more certain of it.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/360871044247 this is the inverter. It's cheap, but it's just going to be my new toy... :)

Thanks in advance for any help :)
« Last Edit: March 16, 2014, 12:22:48 am by aaron »

Offline johansen

• Frequent Contributor
Re: UPS Inverter Batteries
« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 12:34:34 am »
that's not a ups but an inverter, probably modified square wave.

i do believe they make gel cells but there is almost no reason to buy them. AGM cells are the standard but the best kilowatt hours per dollar are flooded cells, and always have been.

Offline gxti

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2014, 01:09:14 am »
It says sine output in the description, not that I necessarily believe it. It also says it has a charger, with the idea that you could use it as a UPS. Any 6-cell lead acid battery would fit the bill regardless of type. But probably the inverter is low quality, and the charger is going to be really bad.

Check this out for an idea of what can go wrong: http://ludens.cl/Electron/chinverter/chinverter.html

Offline NiHaoMike

• Super Contributor
  • "Don't turn it on - Take it apart!"
    • Facebook Page
« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2014, 01:09:34 am »
If it's for a stationary application, just get a deep cycle battery and call it done.
Cryptocurrency has taught me to love math and at the same time be baffled by it.

Cryptocurrency lesson 0: Altcoins and Bitcoin are not the same thing.