Author Topic: Weller WHS-M Teardown and discussion  (Read 13442 times)

Offline BenedictTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Weller WHS-M Teardown and discussion
« on: June 11, 2013, 09:35:54 pm »
Hello everyone ;)

My name is Benedict, Ben for short. I'm a medical student (5th of 6 years here in Croatia).
Just a bit about me, as this is my first post.
As i said, I do study medicine, and hope I'll become a neurosurgeon one day. I have no interest in hearding money and buying expensive cars and yahts like some surgeons out there do, i just like the brain, the great pcb of humans. :)
And.. built a 1000 000 volts tesla coil when i was 14, or so.. I like flashy stuff :)
I absolutely love physics and electronics, and do not approach it as a hobbyist, I'm quite serious about it, to the point that i tried to study it in parallel with medicine. That... didn't end up quite well. :D
but I'll try to get at least some degree in it as well, because i REALLY LOVE IT :)
My next project is a CNC machine, and I heartly recommend everyone to get/make one, for it's many many advantages.

So. The weller. Got in a nice box. Lots of colours. Nice.

Here you can see how they aim for that mobility aspect

Let's see what's in the box :)

Couple of manuals (safety information and usage), chinese made switching power supply 12 V @ 5A, sodering iron holder with sponge, 1 RT tip (there's 2 here, i ordered one extra)

This is how the station looks like assembled. It's truly beautiful :)

The back panel is interesting, there is a DC 12 volt in, and soldering iron out, but notice 3 other holes. I think I'll mod the thing later, perhaps try to add tweezers. That'd be nice.

Made in Germany :)

The iron itself. It's kind of a 3.5 mm jack, in which 3.5 mm RT tips plug in, it's hot swappable :)

The ridiculously flexible cable, never seen anything like it