Author Topic: Which soldering station? JBC, Metcal, Weller...  (Read 68861 times)

Offline DL8RITopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Which soldering station? JBC, Metcal, Weller...
« on: February 19, 2014, 11:46:13 am »
Hi,

I'm moving soon and I will have a dedicated soldering/dirt-work and measurment-desk.
Therefore I need a second soldering-station for the measurement-desk. Now the question is... which one?

Right now I own a Weller WSD-81 (soldering) and WMD-3 (Tweezer, Desoldering, Hot-Air).

What I want:
A good station, no cheap crap.
Enough power to solder a bigger connector (e.g. N) onto a case.
A working(!) standby (therefore no PACE).
Wide selection of tips which don't cost a fortune.

Right now I favor the JBC CD-2BC. The fast Heatup&Standby is cool and i'ts much cheaper than the corresponding Weller. And I like the design.
But it has less power. I've never used the newest Wellers, are they worth the 100€ more? I've little experience with the JBC and up to now it was quite satisfying.

The station will be used if during a measurement I have to solder something. Therefore it will remain in standby most of the time.

Does anyone have other suggestions?
« Last Edit: February 19, 2014, 08:20:50 pm by DL8RI »

Offline robrenz

• Super Contributor
  • Real Machinist, Wannabe EE
Re: Wich soldering station? JBC, Metcal, Weller...
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2014, 12:45:12 pm »
You will NOT regret a JBC purchase :-+

Offline StubbornGreek

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2014, 01:30:18 pm »
You will NOT regret a JBC purchase :-+

I 2nd this - amazing piece of equipment.
"The reward of a thing well done is to have it done"
-Ralph Waldo Emerson

Offline madires

• Super Contributor
  • A qualified hobbyist ;)
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2014, 01:58:49 pm »
ERSA i-Con with i-Tool. And since you're living also in 'Schland there are no problems with availability. BTW, ERSA is less expensive than Weller and delivers better tools, IMHO.