Author Topic: YIHUA 947-III soldering iron thoughts?  (Read 5439 times)

Offline kalelTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
YIHUA 947-III soldering iron thoughts?
« on: December 02, 2017, 09:20:56 pm »
It is priced around $17, and seems to be an upgraded/better version of this thing on the right:

I have one of those (on the right), as it was around $6 with 5 tips of different shapes to choose from. So there's a high price difference.

Anyway, they claim there is some type of temperature control (assuming that the other one only has power control, which is still better than nothing):

I'm not sure what it is exactly and how it works "real-time monitoring of temperature", they point to a variable resistor, and that doesn't tell me much.

It can effectively ensure the accuracy of the temperature and to prevent temperature out of control to avoid burning soldering iron handle and other adverse consequences.

The heater element image shows two wires:

I'm not an expert by any means but I assume those two wires are just for power. Still, it might be possible to measure the resistance of the element which will change with temperature and establish some type of control that way?

I'm curious in finding out what is really upgraded/better than the "other brand", and your thoughts on how the temperature control might function.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2017, 09:23:08 pm by kalel »

Offline KL27x

• Super Contributor
Re: YIHUA 947-III soldering iron thoughts?
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2017, 10:38:51 pm »
The temperature measurement happens on the other end of the cord, at the station.