Author Topic: ZD-939L Hot Air Station - 2 minute teardown!  (Read 12547 times)

Offline WireheadTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • Wirehead.be
ZD-939L Hot Air Station - 2 minute teardown!
« on: November 13, 2016, 08:46:05 am »
I recently purchased a new hot air station, and seeing there's not a lot of info or user experiences floating around, I decided to take this apart.
I'm no expert on hot air stations, nor will I pretend to be one :popcorn:, but I kinda like this station so far. It gets parts of multilayer boards off quite easily. Oh yeah, it also seems to be doing it in a safe way (grounded exposed parts.. no Atten-drama here :))

It was bought from a EU-vendor (Reichelt), semi-rebadged from Zhongdi (http://www.china-zhongdi.com).
I guess due to this, and German laws, they let them build this with a bit more QC.

The unit itself looks nothing special. It's a hot air station, what do you want? :) It has 2 buttons on the front. The right one is the main power switch, left one turns the heater on. After soldering, if you turn the heater off, but leaving the main power on, it triggers the pump to it's maximum speed, for about one minute, until the unit is fully cooled down. I think that's a nice feature. (Oh, don't worry about the funny colors on the LCD, that's due to a polarising filter on my lens...)

The pump is secured during shipping with transport screws. Once removed, the pump can move freely on silicone rubber mounts.

On the back of the unit, the power inlet has clearly marked ratings, as well as the name of the EU-vendor.

Connections at the power inlet are made with spade connectors, and are insulated. Grounding is provided with a shake proof washer, bolted to the housing. Another wire extends from this bolt, to the heater tip.

At the front, connection to the switches is made in the same fashion - insulated spade connectors. Note that for the main power, the Live (or Hot) wire is switched. For the heater, both wires are switched.