Author Topic: 433MHz Diode Detector Impedance Matching  (Read 3025 times)

Offline awmt102Topic starter

433MHz Diode Detector Impedance Matching
« on: July 03, 2018, 09:54:41 pm »
Hi All,

I am trying to design a very low power, high sensitivity 433MHz detector. I initially used a series of diode voltage doublers which worked very well with input voltages of above about 100mV, but I want to detect voltages around 10mV. Adding a bias voltage to the diode detector works well in simulation with low impedance source so the next step is to impedance match it to the 50 Ohm antenna. When I simulate with an ac sweep with a 1A current source I get what look like very strange phase and mag plots (see attached). In particular I get a phase <-1.5rad which does not seem right. I'm new to using spice to impedance match so would appreciate any tips.

Thanks

Andy
« Last Edit: July 03, 2018, 09:57:26 pm by awmt102 »

Online Neganur

• Supporter
Re: 433MHz Diode Detector Impedance Matching
« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2018, 02:31:07 pm »
Does that spice feature harmonic balance simulation?
Your matching depends on input amplitude as well, I will see if I can look at it later.

Ps, you need a load after the diodes, the cap itself is not enough. To maximize power in it set it to R_L=1/(alpha*I_s) (diode parameters)

Why do you use a current source btw, and 1A, that’s not “very low power”
« Last Edit: July 04, 2018, 02:56:21 pm by Neganur »

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2018, 04:24:47 pm »
Thanks for the reply. I'm not sure about the harmonic balance simulation. I use the website partsim.com for simulation... I'll see if I can find out.

I did not think that matching depended on amplitude as the purpose is to provide optimum energy transfer... can you elaborate?

Thanks for the load tip, I will look into this.