Author Topic: Staggered 50uH and 250uH inductor design for LISN  (Read 42290 times)

Offline dazz1

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Staggered 50uH and 250uH inductor design for LISN
« Reply #75 on: April 08, 2018, 08:00:29 pm »
With a mains LISN, the priority is RF signal integrity, not safety. ...

I am not a lawyer but I believe the health & safety legislation in every civilized country would take exception to that statement.  If there was an accident involving equipment made/supplied by you, that statement would bite you very hard.  The priority should always be safety first.
Dazz

Over Engineering: Why make something simple when you can make it really complicated AND get it to work?

Offline CopperConeTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • *knock knock*
« Reply #76 on: April 08, 2018, 08:48:43 pm »
yea some kid might find it if you leave it laying around on the street

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #77 on: April 08, 2018, 09:17:23 pm »
With a mains LISN, the priority is RF signal integrity, not safety. ...

I am not a lawyer but I believe the health & safety legislation in every civilized country would take exception to that statement.  If there was an accident involving equipment made/supplied by you, that statement would bite you very hard.  The priority should always be safety first.

How could you possibly ever get agency approval for a high voltage generator, a transient generator, an EMI generator, a... ?

Test equipment is exempt from such restrictions for good reason.  They must be used by qualified technicians, in suitable lab conditions, for the same reason! :D :D :D

Example: the local Cooper/Eaton guys have a high voltage test lab, 20kV just sitting out in the air and all that.

How is that acceptable?