Author Topic: AD8302 does weird things  (Read 4517 times)

Offline DM2LCTTopic starter

• turmlabor
AD8302 does weird things
« on: January 03, 2018, 12:04:44 pm »
Hello!

I think I first have to introduce myself. (And I think I also have to apologize for my bad English.) I'm a 25 years old engineering student, I like ham radio, KiCad and building circuits with vacuum tubes and other weird stuff. I like to do things analog, I can not programming computers. Although I like to play with circuits since I have been 10 years old and studying electrical engineering I'm still not an expert.

A few months ago I found a (theoretically) great VNA schematic from a russian ham radio operator: http://ra4nal.qrz.ru/vna.shtml
It uses a AD9851 DDS module to generate a RF signal. A directional coupler measures forward and reflected power and an AD8302 measures magnitude and phase of whatever you put into its inputs. And right there happens weird stuff no one I know can explain. So I think i have to ask some real experts.

I started measuring around this chip over the holidays at my parents home but my measurement equipment there is quite old east german and soviet stuff and would do better in a museum (but hey... It still works somehow after 30 to 40 years...).

So I found out that:

1. Input B of the AD8302 has a DC offset of about 4 volts which should not be there. Input A does not have any DC offset. Weird.
2. No matter what happens on the inputs of the AD8302, the phase output will always be 900mV. Although 900mV means a phase of 90° according to the datasheet the chip has an internal phase shift of 90°, so this should be defined as 0°. But for example with a simple filter connected between DUT and DET you cannot have a phase of 0° for all frequencies...