Author Topic: AWR SPICE Models  (Read 7840 times)

Offline tec5cTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
AWR SPICE Models
« on: May 30, 2016, 12:05:48 pm »
Another AWR question here.

I need to model a few components to use in AWR - MA46H201 varactor diode (1056 package), and NE3511S02 HJ-FET.

I have managed to get the SPICE model for the varactor diode:

Though, I have no experience in order to implement this into AWR. I am familiar with 'Import Netlist' in AWR, though that requires a S2P file, SPICE/HSPICE file which this model is just from a PDF... This leads me to the HJ-FET.

The S parameter files are available on the manufacturers website. Though, there are several (9 in total) different S2P files for the one device. I understand that each one is for the device under differing operating conditions, though I don't quite understand how to make use of these within AWR... I have the S2P files imported into AWR, though if I am investigating the device's performance and am not sure of what the operating conditions are going to be, how do I know which of these S2P files I need to use? Am I missing something?

Any feedback is appreciated  :)

Offline rfeecs

• Frequent Contributor
Re: AWR SPICE Models
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2016, 11:37:46 pm »
Looks like that diode model is just for a PN junction diode, the simple diode model, DIODE.  You could use that and add the other extrinsic elements Cp, Ls, Rs in your schematic.

The NE3511S02 is pretty much the lowest noise production FET available for 12 GHz.  It's designed for use at 2V, 10mA.  That's where you are going to get optimum noise figure / associated gain.  You are going to have to pick one S2p file and use it.  I don't really see why you don't know what operating conditions you want to use.

How to use it?  RTFM?  :)

Offline tec5cTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 31, 2016, 12:13:33 am »