Author Topic: Can I test this semiconductor in circuit?  (Read 1829 times)

Offline Chris WilsonTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Race car engineer, dog lover, hoarder.
Can I test this semiconductor in circuit?
« on: July 07, 2018, 09:10:12 pm »
I managed to feed 1kW of 137kHz RF up the RX antenna socket of my Kenwood TS-590S (please don't ask..... ;)) I cast it aside as the damage seemed terminal, but having a fairly quiet day today I decided to do some probing. I believe the damage is limited to the RX/TX RF board and relatively localized. Some damage to surge absorption components, a 150nF SMC inductor, a few HVC131 Pin Diodes (gee, they are seriously TINY), and a 0.01 chip cap that's literally disappeared taking a plated through hole with it.

I am a bit stuck about how to test a semiconductor in the BPF switching section though. I am paranoid about damaging the PCB so do NOT want to remove SMC components without VERY good reason as I am not very good at it! Could someone tell me if there's enough info in the attached excerpt from the schematics to say if I can test Q132 (highlighted in blue and a switching semiconductor for the BPF that was in use at the time of the "accident") in circuit, or what's the minimum to remove to so do please?

Thanks. If more of the schematic is needed please ask!

If the schematic excerpt doesn't load it's also at http://www.chriswilson.tv/test.jpg
Best regards,

Chris Wilson.

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Can I test this semiconductor in circuit?
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2018, 09:14:55 pm »
I think I would replace any obviously damaged components and then try it out and see if it works. Often times parts can be tested in circuit but with this sort of damage it's hard to say.

The following users thanked this post: Chris Wilson

Offline German_EE

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 08, 2018, 08:38:58 am »