Author Topic: Design considerations for PCB to place RF shield  (Read 3298 times)

Offline madhu.wesly01Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • If you want to be happy, BE!
Design considerations for PCB to place RF shield
« on: June 27, 2018, 08:22:22 am »
Hello,

I want to place an RF shield/can for a PCB to reduce EMI, I am new to this topic.

Can anyone help me with design and layout considerations that I have to follow for placing the RF shield on the board?
For example, the distance between traces and solder mask opening of RF shield etc.

Thanks in advance
« Last Edit: June 28, 2018, 04:55:37 am by madhu.wesly01 »

Offline CopperCone

• Super Contributor
  • *knock knock*
Re: Design considerations for PCB to place RF shield
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2018, 07:16:39 pm »
I made a thread about this recently but it turned into a derailing portapotty, you might find something useful there though

The following users thanked this post: madhu.wesly01

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2018, 06:36:45 am »
I made a thread about this recently but it turned into a derailing portapotty, you might find something useful there though

I couldn't find any relevant information regarding my question

Offline mc172

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2018, 10:09:34 pm »
I don't really understand the question, especially the bit about solder mask opening in the context of traces? Surely your shielding can is going to touch the ground plane and stay well away from the traces... Can you post any pictures?

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2018, 02:34:17 pm »
I don't really understand the question, especially the bit about solder mask opening in the context of traces? Surely your shielding can is going to touch the ground plane and stay well away from the traces... Can you post any pictures?

Hello,

I want if there are any layout considerations I have to follow for placing RF shield on PCB