Author Topic: Direction finding. What I can do?  (Read 2197 times)

Offline MikePTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Direction finding. What I can do?
« on: October 14, 2017, 11:07:38 am »
 Hello.

I have no experience with RF devices therefore I ask for help. It is necessary to create system of tracking or direction finding. The range of action is up to 30 meters. The object is equipped with a beacon. It can be not RF – system but not infrared. Distance between antennas on receiver – up to a one meter.

What principles or finished devices I can apply?
 I will be very grateful for the help.

Thanks.
 Mike.

Offline tggzzz

• Super Contributor
  • Numbers, not adjectives
    • Having fun doing more, with less
Re: Direction finding. What I can do?
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2017, 11:41:22 am »
You should be aware that it is not just the transmitter and receiver that matter, but also the radio channel between them. The latter depends strongly on many factors, including frequency plus any and all radio reflectors nearby.

Hence, before you get a usable answer, you will also need to define the environment in which it will be used and the resolution and repeatability required.
There are lies, damned lies, statistics - and ADC/DAC specs.
Glider pilot's aphorism: "there is no substitute for span". Retort: "There is a substitute: skill+imagination. But you can buy span".
Having fun doing more, with less

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 14, 2017, 12:27:23 pm »
If its outdoors with a clear sky view, differential GPS with your own local fixed basestation may be an option.  See http://grauonline.de/wordpress/?page_id=1468 to get some ideas.

GPS is unusable for precise positioning inside most buildings, underneath thick forest canopies (especially when wet) or in dense urban area locations where most of the sky is obscured by high-rise buildings, and multi-path reflections off metal clad building faces or energy efficient glazing are common.