Author Topic: ebay 0.1 - 2000MHz LNA  (Read 2254 times)

Online metrologistTopic starter

• Super Contributor
ebay 0.1 - 2000MHz LNA
« on: February 22, 2019, 05:21:44 pm »
I bought this one.

Without LNA: Red trace is reference, 0dB attenuation and gain; Green trace is with internal preamp.
With LNA: Yellow trace 0dB attenuation.

Offline radiolistener

• Super Contributor
Re: ebay 0.1 - 2000MHz LNA
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2019, 05:34:25 pm »
can you perform some tests?

If possible put generator on the input, how it works with different input level?

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2019, 06:55:13 pm »
I do not have an RF generator - I would like a spa with tracking generator. Maybe I can borrow a VNA and use various input padding.

Offline StuartA

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2019, 07:31:43 pm »
I also bought a couple of these, but I have limited test gear and I'm a very amateur amateur.
I did one test at 20MHz and measured their gain at ~30dB, which is what they claim. The gain is very dependent on the DC voltage used; the supplier of the ones I bought advised that at the higher supply voltage, the risk of self-oscillation increases.

There's a website here  https://pa0fri.home.xs4all.nl/Ant/Active%20antenna/Active%20receiving%20%20loop%20antenna%20eng.htm  describing their use as the pre-amp for a magloop antenna, but it misses out some important details. Either the input or  the output needs a balancing transformer, or the loop will see the RF coax line to the Rx as a "long leg".

The following users thanked this post: radiolistener

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2019, 07:41:36 pm »
A loop antenna will be one use case. Thanks!

Offline radiolistener

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5 on: February 22, 2019, 11:41:27 pm »
There's a website here  https://pa0fri.home.xs4all.nl/Ant/Active%20antenna/Active%20receiving%20%20loop%20antenna%20eng.htm  describing their use as the pre-amp for a magloop antenna,