Author Topic: I see 99MHz FM radio on my scopes  (Read 3612 times)

Offline lordvader88Topic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • !
I see 99MHz FM radio on my scopes
« on: February 26, 2018, 08:42:28 am »
While making a regenerative receiver and using a tek2215, I realized that what I thought was just noise on the scope at 50ns was actually the strong local 99MHz FM station.

I'm pretty new to scopes, And just looking at my DSO tek2430A on 20ns, I see the 99MHz FM there too. I always just thought that was the scope itself, noise/jitter and and lack of accuracy as I zoom in towards 20mV and 5ns.

So right now on it I have about 80-100mVpp @99MHz with a cheap probe in the air, is there any easy way I'm supposed to block that out ? Maybe a knob inside for blocking strong radio stations ?????

Or do u just ignore it ?

Offline CNe7532294

• Regular Contributor
Re: I see 99MHz FM radio on my scopes
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2018, 10:19:35 am »
A picture helps greatly to see exactly what you are doing. |O As for your issue, what are your probing techniques? "cheap probe in the air" If you're using long leads, of course they'll pick up signals like an antenna. Try probing with shorter leads and watch the signal pick up minimize. See picture here (short lead to use). Hope this helps.

« Last Edit: February 26, 2018, 10:23:02 am by CNe7532294 »

Offline chrisl

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2018, 10:43:11 am »
If you do not need the full BW you can turn on and limit the BANDWIDTH to 20MHz to block the interference.

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2018, 11:06:14 am »
Good probing helps, and shielding helps.

There isn't much you can do to eliminate a strong local station, heroic actions aside (shielded chamber).