Author Topic: Icom IC-7300  (Read 33664 times)

Offline djacobowTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • takin' it apart since the 70's
Icom IC-7300
« on: March 03, 2016, 08:22:04 pm »

So, the IC-7300, the first SDR to come from a "big three" Japanese manufacturer was just approved by the US FCC. Is anybody looking at it? It'll be $1500 -- a huge discount compared to the other SDR transceivers like K3s, FlexRadio units, and Anan units.

I actually don't own an HF transceiver, and am looking to buy my first. I've been surprised/disappointed to see how none of the mainstream ones seem to have a modern receiver, all with traditional superhet architectures and similar performance, like IP3 or "close in dynamic range" being on mainstream units being a good 20dB worse than the best SDR-based units.

I'm just getting into the hobby, and am not going to drop $2k on a transceiver, so have been considering an IC-7200 for awhile, despite it being traditional. But IC-7300 looks interesting. On the other hand, perhaps if this radio is good it will push down the price of the -7200.

http://www.icomamerica.com/en/products/amateur/hf/7300/default.aspx

Offline AF6LJ

• Supporter
Re: Icom IC-7300
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2016, 08:47:13 pm »
There is a big difference between spending what a Flex  SDR costs and what a modern non SDR radio costs. At this point in time I am not convinced the cost difference is justified considering I would be tied down to a computer and a radio; something only one of my radios requires.