Author Topic: Idea for weak signal decoding at or below noise floor  (Read 4630 times)

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
Re: Idea for weak signal decoding at or below noise floor
« Reply #25 on: November 29, 2018, 05:47:13 pm »
There are quite a few modes above the MUF, e.g. meteor scatter.

I'd not heard of OFDM.  That looks rather interesting as it would certainly simplify antenna design.  What FPGA are you using?  I have a Zybo Z7-20, MicroZed and Terasic DE-10 Nano which uses  Altera's response to the Zynq, the Cyclone V. My primary project is FOSS DSO FW for Zynq based scopes.  And hopefully any Cyclone V based units which might appear in the future.  I'm expecting it will take 2000-3000 hours of effort. But it's the only way we will ever have a DSO with FOSS FW.  The economics of manufacturing make OSHW impractically expensive.

I'm a complete novice at FPGAs, but an old hand at DSP in recorded time (i.e. reflection seismology).   I also now have for the first time a fairly complete test bench going up to 3 GHz.

Offline OwO

• Super Contributor
  • RF Engineer.
« Reply #26 on: November 30, 2018, 02:12:45 am »
I'd not heard of OFDM. 
:o :o :o :o :o
It's the modulation scheme used in ~everything today including wifi, LTE, and DVB/DAB because of its superior ability to deal with multipath and selective fading over a wide bandwidth.

I have a Cyclone V DE1-SoC but I'm also looking at getting a PlutoSDR and doing signal processing on the Zynq included in it. A custom board with Zynq 7010/7020 is also in the plans.

I wouldn't discount OSHW manufacturing since the price of parts and PCBA services in China makes such a thing feasible and competitive at even just 10 units. Not sure about an oscilloscope but a PlutoSDR (with a zynq 7010) can be built for <$50 each at quantities of 5 to 10.
Email: OwOwOwOwO123@outlook.com

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
« Reply #27 on: November 30, 2018, 02:46:13 am »