Author Topic: Microwave frequency VCO. HELP  (Read 4351 times)

Offline CacaoTopic starter

• Contributor
Microwave frequency VCO. HELP
« on: June 25, 2017, 06:00:08 am »
Im an Electronics engineering student. Can someone help me check whether there is a mistake on this oscillator that supposed to have 900MHz - 1.2GHz output. The simulation is working pretty fine but the prototype doesn't.
Simulation:
https://pictub.club/image/7QdvWk
PCB design:
https://ibb.co/e6cMa5
« Last Edit: June 25, 2017, 04:32:09 pm by Cacao »

Offline kridri

• Contributor
Re: Microwave frequency VCO. HELP
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2017, 07:44:13 am »
Maybe you can add also a picture of you're prototype?
That can be handy!

The following users thanked this post: Cacao

Offline w2aew

• Super Contributor
  • I usTa cuDnt speL enjinere, noW I aR wuN
    • My YouTube Channel
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2017, 01:28:32 pm »
Im an Electronics engineering student. Can someone help me check whether there is a mistake on this oscillator that supposed to have 900MHz - 1.2GHz output. The simulation is working pretty fine but the prototype doesn't.

https://pictub.club/image/7QdvWk

A picture of your prototype would help a lot.  Analog circuits operating around 1GHz require *VERY* careful physical design & layout to work properly.  This will NOT work on plug-in breadboard.
YouTube channel: https://www.youtube.com/w2aew
FAE for Tektronix
Technical Coordinator for the ARRL Northern NJ Section

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2017, 04:31:21 pm »
I don't have the prototype right now so i just added the pcb design. Hope you can help me. Thanks in advance

Offline ChristofferB

• Frequent Contributor
  • Chemistry phd student!
    • My channel:
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2017, 09:26:42 pm »
I'm not really into pcb design, especially not in the microwave range, but it seems like there's an awful lot of space between everything, with awfully long traces to follow.
--Christoffer //IG:Chromatogiraffery