Author Topic: Need help with PA 2-4GHz 10W  (Read 3219 times)

Offline WaldmannTopic starter

Need help with PA 2-4GHz 10W
« on: December 15, 2018, 03:09:30 pm »
Greetings!
I am a beginner RF designer and my current task is to design an RF power amplifier (PA). This will be my first PA.
Specification is following:
Architecture: Balanced PA
Frequency range: 2 to 4 GHz
Output power (p4dB): 10 W
Gain: 40±4 dB
Supply voltage: 50 V
I’ve  designed a block diagram of my PA and picked up some RF elements for it (see attached picture).
First two stages are 50 Ohm internally matched MMICs HMC609LC4 and HMC637A.
The third and final stage is two discrete transistors NPTB00004A assembled in a balanced scheme with two quadrature couplers. External matching networks between transistors and couplers are to be designed.
So my petition to community is to estimate this diagram and its entire design. Is it OK? Will it work this way? Will I get my 10W on the output with given elements?

Offline KJDS

• Super Contributor
    • my website holding page
Re: Need help with PA 2-4GHz 10W
« Reply #1 on: December 15, 2018, 03:22:53 pm »
The NPTB models don't match the transistors, so designing matching networks becomes little more than guesswork.

Offline rfeecs

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 05:53:24 pm »
Your problem is going to be matching the discrete output stage from 2 to 4 GHz.  You are using the datasheet numbers for 2.5GHz.  You will get much lower gain at 4GHz.  Those numbers are also the optimum for single frequency.  Broad band you will have degraded performance.

The package parasitics are going to make it difficult to get good broadband performance.  There is a reason people use chip and wire for broadband discrete power amplifiers.  You would be better off using a MMIC for the output stage.  (Except for the cost of course.)

The following users thanked this post: Waldmann

Offline dmills

• Super Contributor