Author Topic: Powering LNA over coax  (Read 5971 times)

Offline toomasTopic starter

• Contributor
Powering LNA over coax
« on: January 18, 2019, 11:11:47 am »
LNA can be powered over coax using a bias-tee. Now when you look at the common schematics of RF LNA amplifiers and bias tees, then it seems that it's possible to just add an inductor in parallel with amp output capacitor to power it. I have little experience with RF circuits so I don't know if people actually do things like this.

Another thing is that now we have an LC tank that has a resonant frequency and Q at the amp output. If I tune this to the frequency I try to receive, it will be even better. I'm talking about ~150MHz range.

Is this idea valid? I'm thinking about modifying a cheap eBay LNA, but maybe this is a bad idea from the start.

https://www.qsl.net/va3iul/High_Frequency_LNA_schematics/High_Frequency_LNA_schematics.htm

Offline rhb

• Super Contributor
Re: Powering LNA over coax
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 01:27:56 pm »
Here are a couple of examples from the 9th ed RSGB Handbook.  As you can see the power supply over the coax is handled the same way in both circuits.

Offline GeoffreyF

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 03:52:25 pm »
Inductors pass lower frequencies better than higher and that includes DC. Capacitors are the opposite. 
US Amateur Extra W1GCF.

Offline StuartA

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 10:11:33 pm »
I'm working on a very similar project. There are some wideband LNA's on ebay, 30db gain from 1-2000MHz and I'm just about to try using one of these as the amplifier for a Magnetic Loop Antenna (MLA). The idea is not entirely mine, but is described on this site https://pa0fri.home.xs4all.nl/Ant/Active%20antenna/Active%20receiving%20%20loop%20antenna%20eng.htm  and there some notes on power the LNA on there.