Author Topic: single transistor receivers and transmitters designs?  (Read 6107 times)

Offline ssagerianTopic starter

single transistor receivers and transmitters designs?
« on: May 04, 2016, 08:52:26 pm »
Hi Guys,
Let me start out by saying that I am not an RF engineer, just a embedded firmware guy with some hardware design (some analog). so I have been thinking about if its possible to have a single transistor receiver that could decode some basic on off modulated  RF signals? I would like to start learning about this, perhaps do some low power designs after a bit of learning. Any links to design discussions, tutorials etc would be welcome.

thanks
Steve

Offline vk3yedotcom

• Frequent Contributor
    • vk3ye dot com (radio articles and projects)
Re: single transistor receivers and transmitters designs?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 09:37:21 pm »
For receivers you can achieve the following in one transistor (OK some of the below use 2 or 3 but you can strip them down for reduced performance)

* Regenerative receiver.  Receives AM/CW/SSB signals up to about 20 MHz.  Even digital modes eg PSK31 if connected to a computer's soundcard.  Mostly free-running and unstable. Uses positive feedback so can be touchy.  Builders often add an audio and/or RF amplifier for better audio output and/or isolation from the antenna.  Eg:

* Reflex receivers.  Use the one transistor to amplify both RF and audio.  Can be combined with regenerative circuits but a bit touchy as the transistor is doing multiple things.

* Direct conversion receiver.  Receives AM/CW/SSB signals up to about 20 MHz.  Even digital modes eg PSK31 if connected to a computer's soundcard.  Can be controlled by a crystal or ceramic resonator for good frequency stability but limited tuning range.  A 1 transistor version uses the transistor as the local RF oscillator and a diode mixer. However audio output will be very low unless you add audio amplification. Maybe even 'cheat' and use a sound card. Eg