Author Topic: SWR protection schematic that compares FWD to REV levels??  (Read 4020 times)

Offline Chris WilsonTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • Race car engineer, dog lover, hoarder.
SWR protection schematic that compares FWD to REV levels??
« on: March 11, 2017, 12:57:39 pm »
I am looking for schematics for a standalone SWR protection circuit. Most seem to just compare REV power to a fixed input voltage to a comparator. I want a circuit that works at all power levels, so it has to compare the relative levels of FWD to REV voltages. As by illustration say I am running 1 Watt QRP. A high reflected power may be a tiny voltage out of the bridge compared to a safe REV level when running 1kW. I am sure someone has addressed this before and built SWR protection that looks at the relativity between FWD and REF voltage levels, but I can't find much, and the one I have found is hand written and illegible, unfortunately. Please bear in mind I am a beginner so I need real schematics and not general ideas to create my own ;) It may be easy peasy to you, but I need to build to a known working schematic at my level, although I do try and understand what's occurring! I have the bridge built and working.

Thanks for reading.
Best regards,

Chris Wilson.

Offline rheb1026

• Regular Contributor
Re: SWR protection schematic that compares FWD to REV levels??
« Reply #1 on: March 11, 2017, 04:10:15 pm »
I've had a similar project on my todo list. I came across the site for W6PQL which has a lot of good, well documented projects. This isn't quite what you're asking for, but it's at least a good starting point:

http://www.w6pql.com/1_8_to_54_mhz_dual_coupler.htm

This should be able to give you a forward and reverse voltage that you can use in your own circuit. Hope this helps
« Last Edit: March 11, 2017, 04:12:04 pm by rheb1026 »

The following users thanked this post: Chris Wilson

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC