Author Topic: Tubes/Valves+ 1930's radio renovation  (Read 1775 times)

Offline DavsopTopic starter

Tubes/Valves+ 1930's radio renovation
« on: August 17, 2018, 06:07:49 am »
Hi everybody
I'm a newbie here so just a quick intro. I work for a company supplying wound components to industry but I am also still involved in tubes/valves etc.. which I used to deal in with my last company in the 1980's/1990's. (I'm always interested in buying unwanted/clearouts so let me know,I will travel to collect.)

I've just received an old 1930's radio and asked can you get this renovated for me please?
So I'm currently looking around who can help me with this project.  I'll post some pictures later for you to see.
Thanks
Dave
Always interested in clear outs of unwanted tubes and components. PM me!

Offline PhilipPeake

• Regular Contributor
Re: Tubes/Valves+ 1930's radio renovation
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2018, 04:54:02 pm »
Well, real help over the internet may not amount to much, but if you want to post details of the problems that you encounter on the way I (and others) may have some ideas of where to go next.

As a starter:

Look to see that the valve heaters are glowing. If they are not, find out how they are supplied.
In better class radios there will be a 6.3v winding on the power transformer. Check that power is getting to the transformer, and that you have 6.3v (AC) on the heater winding. If no power, start looking at the on/off switch and any fuses.

Cheaper radios may not have a transformer. Instead, the heaters are wired in series, and there will be a large wire-wound resistor dropping the mains supply current feeding these. If one of the valve heaters is open circuit, non will be on. More likely, one section of the wire wound resistor has gone open circuit. You used to be able to buy replacements to just bridge over an O/C section. These days you will probably need to be more creative.