Author Topic: What does SDR TX look like in the time domain?  (Read 1747 times)

Offline AlexITopic starter

• Contributor
What does SDR TX look like in the time domain?
« on: March 03, 2018, 06:28:44 am »
I have a test and measurement application where I need to produce certain kinds of signals.  I have no experience with SDR but I'm wondering if SDR or DDS chips could produce what I need.  For example, I could use something like LimeSDR, or a DDS chip like AD9910.

As I understand it the SDR input is a series of I/Q values that could change at up to the symbol rate.  For now, ignore Q, say it's always zero.  When the I input is 0, 0, 0, max value, 0, 0... - what does the radio output in the time domain?

I assume the signal doesn't go from zero to max amplitude instantly; the amplitude ramps up and down at a certain rate.  Is there a spec for this?  Could someone who has a SDR radio record this on a fast scope and post here?

Offline awallin

• Frequent Contributor
Re: What does SDR TX look like in the time domain?
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2018, 09:05:48 am »
LimeSDR spec says "Bandwidth: 61.44 MHz" - if we assume that goes around both sides of a carrier then the changes in amplitude will happen on roughly a time-scale of 1/30 MHz = 30 ns  - give or take a factor of pi... (as long as the analog part of the RF chain has enough bandwidth).

sorry don't have TX hardware to test atm...

Offline Kalvin

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded SW/HW.
« Reply #2 on: March 03, 2018, 09:11:21 am »
To make a long story short: First, the PC will set the carrier frequency in the SDR which will be used by the mixer, then the PC will compute and feed the time-varying I & Q signals into the SDR which will be fed further into the mixer, the mixer will then multiply and sum the I&Q signals with the carrier signal, and finally the SDR will output the modulated carrier to the TX output.

w2aew has nice videos on modulation. Here is a link to the first in the series to get you started.