EEVblog > News/Suggestions/Help

How about investigating broadband RF noise from LED driver circuits

(1/2) > >>

michaelc:
Hi Everybody,

Long post... sorry!

I work in the marine electronics field, mainly in the fishing industry for over 23 years.  I also work with commercial two-way radio systems.

I'm into electronics/computers/IT/amateur radio/home theatre for fun as well!

In recent years I have been finding an increase of broadband RF noise sources finding their way on fishing boats.  The most insidious of these cause a lot of issues for on-board radio equipment.  The symptom generally shows as a decrease in VHF radio receive performance although lower frequency HF equipment is also affected.  HF radio is used less and less these days.   

Various RF noise sources have been identified... some quite surprising!   A well known name-brand marine radar... but only while it's transmitting.   Various cheap LCD TV's. Switch mode power supplies/battery chargers, switch mode phone chargers, microwave oven processors, etc.

More recently a very bad source of interference has been identified... LED globe replacements for navigation lights.  Many of the expensive "vertical filament" incandescent globes have been swapped out to more efficient, longer lasting LED replacements.  But there seems to have been another potentially dangerous cost that has to be paid for this efficiency.

The interference these LED lights generate aren't heard on the VHF radio... the effect is that the extra RF noise affects the radios AGC circuit and impact on the sensitivity of the radio... severely affecting the ability of the radio to receive weak/distant transmissions.

I have had one fishing boat skipper drive himself crazy over a very long time trying to get his radios to work properly... replacing radios, cables, antennas... all to no avail.