Author Topic: schematic etiquette  (Read 5943 times)

Offline subolg123Topic starter

• Contributor
schematic etiquette
« on: April 11, 2014, 05:40:02 pm »
it might be time to craft a short video on schematic etiquette.

« Last Edit: June 16, 2014, 03:21:52 pm by subolg123 »

Offline miguelvp

• Super Contributor
Re: schematic etiquette
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2014, 01:29:49 am »
By all means, power rails deserve their own page, don't mix them with other stuff just because you have the space to do so.

But I'm a noob.

Offline free_electron

• Super Contributor
    • SiliconValleyGarage
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2014, 01:35:40 am »
hmm. interesting idea.. i'll add a chapter to my next book on this. (book on PCB design)
Professional Electron Wrangler.
Any comments, or points of view expressed, are my own and not endorsed , induced or compensated by my employer(s).

Offline SL4P

• Super Contributor
  • There's more value if you figure it out yourself!
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2014, 07:47:15 am »
My vote - where possible ---

-- Signal flow from left-to-right
       - and also when it doesn't confuse the purpose of the drawing - inputs of parts on left / outputs on right
       - mixed i/o to go where it best indicates the function of the circuit

--Supply rails in descending voltage from top-to-bottom - where it makes the diagram more readable.

--Connectors & Ports - when possible, Inputs arriving from the left / Outbound pointing to the right... !
       - preferably in a similar layout/order if they arrive on another sheet that makes them easier to mentally associate.
       - same for connectors that appear on different or separate sheets.

Schematics are documentation to be read in the future - not just a means to generate a netlist and PCB layout !
Don't ask a question if you aren't willing to listen to the answer.

Offline ignator

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2014, 05:55:13 pm »
Make all the rules you want. Only you can follow your rules.