Author Topic: $20 LCR ESR Transistor checker project  (Read 3444573 times)

carrascoso and 11 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline denimdragon

• Regular Contributor
  • "Hole charge chaser and wanna-be o-scope fixer"
Re: $20 LCR ESR Transistor checker project
« Reply #5050 on: September 05, 2018, 02:26:39 am »
OK, so I have been reading through this encyclopedia in bite-sized chunks (far to much to digest at one time) and I still haven't read the entire thread. I have been playing with my AY-AT for the last couple of days. These little devices are really amazing, well actually the coders (Karl & Markus-Both) are amazing. I'm a rookie but I've been doing analog here and there since I've been in school for the last couple of years. This was a perfect chance for me to get into both arenas.

I have a few questions (I'm an extremist, so bare with me...):

• Could this possibly be ported over to a ST32?
  • I've been really playing with the idea of adding a daughter board that uses a LT1021BMH-5 for the Vref. How much trouble would that be and would It make a significant difference in this application? I have a ton of these and some aged LM199AH/883QS and LM399AH. I plan on using external power.
  • I'm also curious if I could use external ADC as well.

None of this might be worth the effort but I had to ask  :-//

P.S. I know the aim was to max out what was available with minor hardware adjustments so as not to conflict with the software...

"Hi there. I'm short in the hair department, do you mind if I pull a few strands from your head? Thanks!"

Offline texaspyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #5051 on: September 05, 2018, 02:58:23 am »
The AVR only has (rather crappy) 10 bit ADCs.  Not much to gain with better refs and sub-0.1% resistors.