Author Topic: [Q]Upgrading to auto range DMM  (Read 7487 times)

Offline KenjutsuTopic starter

• Contributor
[Q]Upgrading to auto range DMM
« on: July 15, 2013, 10:38:22 am »
Hello everyone,

I am a hobbyist and have been using a simple TestMate 308 DMM for many years now. I am looking at upgrading to an auto range DMM. I do not foresee working with AC voltages, and unfortunately, my budget is limited to about US$60-70. Currently I am looking at the UT61E. I do not really know what other good meters are available in my price range, so any suggestions would be highly appreciated.

I am from South Africa, so finding good meters at good prices are very difficult. For example, I can get the UT61E locally for about US$120, so buying suggestions will also be appreciated.

Thank you :-+

Online mariush

• Super Contributor
Re: [Q]Upgrading to auto range DMM
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2013, 12:05:21 pm »
You can get UT61E much cheaper than that.

A member of this forum has an eBay store and sells the UT61E at around 60-70$, here's his eBay store: http://stores.ebay.com/99centHobbies/Multimeters-/_i.html?_fsub=3795558014&_sid=12141904&_trksid=p4634.c0.m322

He is very appreciated and has good reputation here so you can buy from him with confidence.

UT61E is a very good meter for the price (not the African price). Over let's say $80 or so, there may be better multimeters but I'm not up to date on them so I couldn't tell you.

Considering you managed to not kill yourself with that Testmate 308 so far, the UT61E should be a very good upgrade and probably more than enough - I'd spend the difference to 120$ on other things that may help you like a good soldering station or something like that.

Offline chibiace

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2013, 12:31:18 pm »