Author Topic: 8753 Screen Upgrade / Replacement  (Read 9747 times)

Offline Gandalf_SrTopic starter

• Super Contributor
8753 Screen Upgrade / Replacement
« on: February 02, 2017, 11:55:52 am »
I have an HP 8753E VNA that has a gloomy screen - a common problem it would seem.  I've actually gone into similar pieces of equipment and replaced the ccfl tube with reasonable success in improving the brightness. However, I feel that it should not be that big a deal to upgrade the display with a newer alternative that: a) uses an LED backlight and b) has better technology LCD that is clearer.

This is the basic project idea - engineer a plug-and-play solution to upgrade the display by removing the old LCD unit and replacing it with a readily available one. Ideally that would mean finding a display that had the same connector (I can dream can't I?) or (more likely) come up with a design that's some kind of interface board - I am an embedded design engineer so I will do this bit if it's needed.  Help me and we can all share in the delights of better displays for those aging HP/Agilent VNAs (and probably a load of other stuff using the same display). If you guys on EEVblog help me by finding datasheets etc. we can help the community.  Get the stuff to me and I'll update this first post with what we have discovered.  I imagine there's a few of you out there that would like to join me as Beta testers?

Let's get started with what I know about the display in my HP8753E
* HP Part number: 08753-60325 LCD Replacement Assembly
* Display used: Sharp LQD340H 8.4 inch 640x480
* The backlight is run from an inverter that takes 5V at around 0.5 A and converts it to 380 Vac at around 5 mA - this should be plenty of power for an LED backlight alternative
* The brightness control is done by an analog feed from the main unit where 0V = 100% intensity and 4.5V = 50% intensity - some kind of interface to an LED backlight brightness control will be needed here

Action List: