Author Topic: Advice on buying Multimeter in India  (Read 6486 times)

Offline arif_senpaiTopic starter

Advice on buying Multimeter in India
« on: June 21, 2018, 04:44:50 pm »
Newbie here so please don't bash me. I am asking for genuine suggestions and advice.
I wish to purchase quality electronic equipment(like a multimeter immediately, power supply and oscilloscope maybe later). Let's just focus on multimeter for now.
I am pursuing Bachelors degree in Electronics and Telecommunication right now. I am super enthusiastic about electronics. I have worked on projects during school too. I wish to do more.
I have used the El-cheapo multimeters till now which have failed on me thrice now. I am just fed up now and looking for a functional but affordable meter.
Sadly, here in India they just don't sell much of good quality stuff related to electronics. This is the current dilemma I am in:

1. I don't want to buy from Chinese manufacturers like Aneng, UNI-T or Mastech etc. First of all they sell it expensive here. Secondly I don't trust sites like Banggood and Aliexpress (Ebay exists just for name sake) because of high shipping time and I am apprehensive. Just don't want to.

2. I am ready to buy the EEVBlog Brymen BM235. I love it. But my country hates me and quality products.
We have ridiculous custom duty and GST.
Custom duty for electronics : 21-23% for products costing less than $30(USD)
                                           41% for products costing greater than $30(USD)
Yes freaking 41%, or at least that is what I am destined to incur because of DHL delivery.
And that's not all. They enlist additional custom duty for no apparent reason.

State Government GST : 18%
Central Government GST : 18%

So on a product costing AUD 130, I will incur about AUD 100 at least in taxes, plus the AUD 36 for DHL shipping. You know where it is going.
My country hates me.