Author Topic: Agilent 3631a  (Read 6589 times)

Offline DandoniTopic starter

• Contributor
Agilent 3631a
« on: October 06, 2016, 07:34:29 am »
Hey there,

I am new to this forum and have been reading a few threads to get an idea of what equipment to buy. I am currently studying mechanical engineering at uni but after taking a couple electrical units I have taken quite a liking to the field.

I have found a used Agilent E3631a for around 1200 oz dollars. I cant seem to find a whole lot of info on this power supply. There seems to be a lot of talk on the Rigol dp832 or recommendations to get an older HP. For general messing around( vague, I know) , i have no idea on what specs I really need. I dont like buying things twice so i dont mind spending a little more on equipment that lasts and I dont mind buying used. Also recommendations for other test equipment for a decent setup. Help/advice is appreciated
Cheers

Offline Micke

• Regular Contributor
Re: Agilent 3631a
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2016, 08:46:27 am »
I have two of these, and I can really recommend it! Top quality, a power supply you can rely on.
I upgraded the firmware to v2.1 (EPROM 27C2001) in both supplies to fix the bugs with transients during some conditions  and not fully disconnected outputs.
See service notes https://servicenotes.literature.keysight.com/litapp/SearchSN.do?method=openExternalSNSearch&prodNum=E3631A
The only negative is the fan noise, and you can get unlucky getting a unit with dim VFD.
Very common fault on these supplies is that the rotary encoder gets bad, but easily fixed... I bought new ones cheap from Germany http://www.ebay.com/itm/10x-Inkremental-Encoder-12fach-ALPS-EC16-ohne-Rastung-/302025367910?hash=item46521d6166%3Ag%3A3KIAAOSwrx5UYhWb&nma=true&si=rqbe9mk7RPJ8Ci7jJKpmqax17kM%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557
This type of encoder is common in other HPAK equipment as well, so nice to have these in stock!  :)

The following users thanked this post: Dandoni