Author Topic: Any reviews or experience with this function generator (MHS-2300A)?  (Read 54238 times)

Offline PaskyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I'm just a hobbyist looking to get my first signal/function generator.  I saw this on ebay:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/5MHz-Arbitrary-Waveform-Dual-Channel-DDS-Function-Signal-Generator-Sweep-2-4-Lcd-/111242019491?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19e68a82a3

The reason it interests me the most is the ability to create wave forms on the PC, and also it's compact size.  I know I can get a decent 2Mhz name brand generator from tektronix or HP, but I don't have the real estate for one of those dinosaurs on my desk at the moment. 

I tried searching for reviews for this, but couldn't find any.  Maybe someone here has experience with these?  The thing that worries me the most is the UI, I see some of the labels are in Chinese, a language I do not read/write :P.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2014, 01:10:17 am by Pasky »

The following users thanked this post: tonywood

• Regular Contributor
Re: Any reviews or experience with this function generator (MHS-2300A)?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2014, 03:16:18 pm »
Anyone with experience with these FPGA signal generators in general then perhaps?  Are they usually accurate?

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2014, 08:32:55 pm »
Well, I ended up purchasing the 5Mhz model.  They also have a 10 and 20Mhz.  I'll try to do a tear down and take pictures when I receive it.

Offline electronics man

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 15, 2014, 09:06:39 pm »
I haven't got experience whith them but the seem to be from the onehunglow factory and you get what you pay for it may be better to get a secondhand proper function gen
follow me on twitter @get_your_byte

Offline hedehede81

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 21, 2014, 11:08:25 am »