Author Topic: Automatic Probe Attenuation Setting, just a resistor? (tektronix tds320)  (Read 9321 times)

Offline dteckTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi everyone I just picked up my first scope a used TDS 320 off ebay.
I'm still learning my way around it but I had a question about the probe attenuation. It recommends the p6109b which can go for almost as much as I paid for the scope itself. These probes have a pin that contacts a ring around the BNC on the scope that tells it the probe is a 10x. I picked up one of those probes and it works great (minus the missing grabber) but I also picked up some cheap 100mhz Chinese probes. The cheap ones obviously don't have the pin contact for automatic attenuation setting. But I pulled out a meter and got 11k ohms of resistance from the pin to ground. And measuring the connector ring on the scope I got 5 volts.

My assumption is that there is just a resistor in series with the pin going to ground. But I wanted to ask if there is more to this circuit than I think. I did do a test where I put a resistor across the ground and the attenuation ring and it did set the automatic attenuation level on the scope. but being relatively new to this hobby and completely new to scopes I thought I would ask people more experienced than I if there is some important thing I'm missing.

Thanks.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
It is just a resistor going to the BNC ground.  Offhand I do not have the table showing which resistances indicate which attenuation factors but the list is floating around out there.

Texas makes some inexpensive probes which support the readout function and work reasonably well:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/One-new-250MHZ-Oscilloscope-clip-probe-w-readout-pin-/280107318452?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item4137b27cb4

Offline alex.forencich

• Frequent Contributor
    • Alex Forencich