Author Topic: Battery powered DSO/CRO  (Read 5248 times)

Offline SprinterfreakTopic starter

Battery powered DSO/CRO
« on: January 22, 2015, 02:47:12 am »
Hi Guys,
I'm searching for a good battery powered oszilloscope.
That thing should be for private use only and be able to be battery powered for outdoor use where no landline is avail.
Typical outdoor use for example is tracing bad camshaft sensors (had two of them last month) at broken cars, measure ESP sensors on track etc.
At home (my playground) it is for debugging and learning purpose on tiny MC projects.
It should have capabilitys to handle future bigger projects too.
I will call my needs DSO for now, but I didn't find any suitable CRO witch is battery powered.
Yes I'm a beginner to MC electronics  and oszilloscopes, sorry @Dave.
I've allready noticed Your recommendation about DSO's to beginners... :-)

My first thaugt goes to the QDSO DS203 NanoQuad from ebay for round about 130€.
Its cheap, its small, its battery powered.
Practicly it can be carryed anywhere. But I didn't stay here if I wouldn't hear DONT DO THAT!

So the next suitable DSO I found was the OWON SDS7102V for about 400€.
That thing Reaches the maximum limits of my budget.
Did anyone has experiences with it?

I think that DSO with 100Mhz, 1G/s, 2 channels and lots of features I actually not need did easy match any of my wishes. Right?
How reliable is that OWON brand?

Best Regards from Germany,
Jan

Offline ion54

• Contributor

Re: Battery powered DSO/CRO
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2015, 05:34:00 am »
Thanks ion54, looks very nice.  :-+ on form factor and the price.
But is a 60Mhz scope with a buffer of 250MSa/s able to measure the destrotion of voltage regulators output or a serial line too?
As far I can see, this scope didn't support AC couppling.
Thats odd, because the sensing range specs from 0,01V to 5V isn't that great at all...
Am I right?

Offline tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.