Author Topic: Beginner, needs to record signals from a display backlit  (Read 9174 times)

Offline dogmanTopic starter

• Contributor
Beginner, needs to record signals from a display backlit
« on: May 23, 2017, 12:02:47 pm »
Hi all and thanks in advance

I'd like to detect and record the backlit frequency of a display (like a pc display). It could be 60HZ and it could be 20KHZ.
I understand that I probably need a photodiode (http://www.vishay.com/docs/83471/tefd4300.pdf) and an oscilloscope
Given that the photodiode is the correct one, what digital oscilloscope do I need? I saw some recommendations on the saleae - but which version ? I need only a single analog channel?

Thanks a lot!!
« Last Edit: May 25, 2017, 09:02:57 pm by dogman »

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Beginner, needs to record dignals from a display backlit
« Reply #1 on: May 24, 2017, 01:12:52 am »
Probably you are ok with a single channel pocket scope like the DSO Nano V3.  The Saleae is a logic analyzer with a capture-and-show analog channel (not real time) and very expensive for what you need.

If you are going to measure the backlight directly, be aware it might be dealing with HIGH VOLTAGE, but if you are measuring like the flicker frequency of the backlight using a light sensor, then it is safer.

The following users thanked this post: dogman

Offline LaurentR

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 24, 2017, 06:11:16 am »
If you are only after just frequency and not details, many DMMs will have frequency readings and would be simpler (and cheaper) options than oscilloscopes.

Or you could buy a generic frequency meter on EBay. Random example (no experience with these items):
http://www.ebay.com/itm/0-56-DIGITAL-Red-LED-Frequency-and-Tachometer-Rotate-Speed-Meter-DC-12-24V-/371957344295?hash=item569a62a827:g:n5AAAOSwgNRV8PgN&vxp=mtr

Offline bktemp

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2017, 06:48:55 am »