Author Topic: Best entry level oscilloscope for computer engineering?  (Read 35813 times)

Offline nbrittonTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Best entry level oscilloscope for computer engineering?
« on: September 11, 2015, 03:22:04 am »
I find the hacked Rigol 1054Z very compelling. However, decoding SPI on this scope is limited to 25 MHz. Is there a better bang for your buck scope if your primary interest is computer engineering? Would it be better to get the 1054Z + logic analyzer + function generator, or put the money towards a MSO that can do all of those things? Besides the basics discussed in EEVblog #168, what other test equipment is fundamental for a computer engineering lab? This is just a hobby for me and also I'm living in a small apartment right now. I'm a linux engineer by day, if I can frame this as professional development I think I can budget what is necessary to get the right equipment. One of the things I'd love to do is build my own 1970s era computer from scratch so that I can further my understanding of computers. I'd also like to be able to interface with things like Raspberry Pis and other Linux based SBCs for embedded system design.

Offline Armxnian

• Regular Contributor
  • Computer Engineering Student
Re: Best entry level oscilloscope for computer engineering?
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2015, 03:46:36 am »
The decoding functions on the DS1054z are pretty meh, as well as the fft, but the scope is a great value all around. MSOs are nice but expensive. Your first plan consisting of the three separate pieces of test equipment will yield better value. I think Saleae products are still great, but you can find cheaper analyzers.