Author Topic: Better Data Logger? Voltage, Current, Temp, Digital and Test Automation  (Read 2550 times)

Offline seanEETopic starter

• Contributor
Hi,
I’m an electronics engineer and I often find that I want to measure a couple parameters (voltage, current, temp, maybe a few digital pins) over a few hours or days at a relatively low data rate. I often also want simple test automation (switch a load on – drain a battery; switch load off – observe charging cycle etc.). It seems like I should be able to set up this sort of test in a few minutes, but all of the existing data acquisition solutions I can find take considerable time to configure (write code for logger, get a shunt resistor for current measurement etc.) Also, many of the existing options have limited input ranges, and their gain doesn't scale automatically with input signal amplitude. Has anyone else found this sort of thing to be a problem?

Anyway, I finally got frustrated enough and just went and made the data acquisition / test automation device I wanted. I call it “Trendeca”, you can see the details here:

http://trendeca.com/

If you have any feedback on the design, or have some other thoughts, I’m keen to hear them. Some of my engineering mates in the area wanted one, so I thought I would offer it to anyone who's interested.
Cheers,
Sean

Offline ovnr

• Frequent Contributor
  • Lurker
First impressions: "Eh, it looks like a nice enough toy. Acquisition system seems to have a bit low resolution. And the form factor is a bit strange."

Then I saw the price. Hoo boy, that's not something I'd spend $1850 on. Maybe $300-400. Having to script my instruments over LXI/GPIB may suck, but it does not suck that much - plus I actually trust the results.

Offline beanflying

• Super Contributor
  • Toys so very many Toys.
Seriously Ouch $ The Price point doesn't seem justifiable to me.