Author Topic: Brymen 257/Greenlee 510A vs Klein MM6000 Photos Added  (Read 19887 times)

Offline SatchTopic starter

• Contributor
Brymen 257/Greenlee 510A vs Klein MM6000 Photos Added
« on: April 24, 2016, 08:32:58 pm »
Gents, spot me some opinions on this deal. Well, deals to be more precise. I was on holiday for the last week. Just mucking around the gaff and generally not doing much of anything. I did however need to do some testing on the trigger group of a Milwaukee power mitre saw and found the junky little meter I have(had) at home was falling apart. I never use it for mains work or anything else with a possibility of high ground fault currents or any other high voltage devises. Just continuity and other non hazardous tasks.

I carry a Fluke 87V at work and it is great but it belongs to my employer and I only bring it home with permission and then to test mains or anything else with higher voltages. Love it but don't know if I should go down that road for home. My background is industrial and commercial electrical work and maintenance but would like enough accuracy and features for hobby electronics use. TME has257 at around $115 plus shipping to the States. And Amazon has the Greenlee 510a sitting in my cart at $143 and change shipped.

This type of meter is likely very sufficient for my needs at the house and I was just about to hit the 'buy' button on the Greenlee when a notice from Amazon  told me another item in my cart had changed price.  This is Klein MM600 for...$95. Now this is rather intriguing since that meter tends to normally cost around 175 USD. I know it is supposed to be a better made model than the other ones and speaks to U.S. assembly, etc. For the life of me I cannot find much in the way of reviews. Is this meter in the same class as the Brymen/Greenlee as far as safety ratings and similar? I know Klein is new to this market with whatever brand of meter they are chucking their name on but it seems like a REALLY good deal? Thoughts?