Author Topic: Aaron oscilloscope 35MHz BS635  (Read 5520 times)

Offline GadgetmanTopic starter

• Contributor
  • Complete newbie to electronics - please be patient
    • Design & Drafting Solutions
Aaron oscilloscope 35MHz BS635
« on: March 12, 2017, 07:24:24 am »
Hello All,

I am a complete novice to the world of electronics but in my long life (over 50 years) I learned quite a few completely new (to me) things in very short time, so I decided to face the music.
In the last few weeks, I watched hours of videos and instructions on YouTube (that's how I migrated here) including full lectures by professor Ravel Ammerman from Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Colorado School of Mines - Introduction to Electrical Circuits (highly recommended). I fully understand that it will never substitute for a proper formal education and/or years of experience and practice, but you have to start somewhere. My knowledge grew dramatically, however, I realise that I still have quite a few miles to cover.

Recently, I bought very cheaply Aaron BS635 2-channel dual trace oscilloscope (made in Japan) with the original manual including all block schematics, board overlays and full schematics as well.

It doesn't work but second-hand analogue oscilloscopes come very few and far between in my part of the world and whatever occasionally is available - I can't afford so I thought - since I paid only $25 for it - I could take a risk and attempt to fix it.

The seller told me that when he bought it he thought it was working because when he powered it up, the cathode screen came up but then the fuse blew and everything shut down. Since then he didn't touch it for the apparently long time.

On the surface, it looked to me like some sort of short (blown fuse).