Author Topic: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??  (Read 438 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline acts238willy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« on: February 07, 2018, 10:47:56 pm »
The usual dilemma... an old machine with no available replacement boards.
My 4708 (AC only) has quit on me.
Will boards from the 47xx series swap with each other...

Or, do I need to use only 4708 boards to repair mine?
I also posted this in the metrology forum...
HELP!
 

Offline jfphp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2018, 05:22:41 am »
You can swap most of the boards even with a 4200 (amplifier, synthesyzer...). Have a look at the part number of the boards. Options are coded in the CPU board and if there is no current, ohm... option you cannot put the option board into the slot occupied by a kind of dummy board.
 
The following users thanked this post: acts238willy

Offline acts238willy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2018, 06:22:28 am »
THANK YOU!!!
I was going to try to populate the 'AC only' 4708 with the DC and Ohms boards
(orange and blue tabs) from the other machine.
That would have driven me nuts!
WillyB
 

Offline jfphp

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2018, 09:45:41 pm »
If I remember but I don't know if it is indicated in the service manual, coding of the options is through dip switches. Have you got the op and the service manuals ?
 
The following users thanked this post: acts238willy

Offline acts238willy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #4 on: February 09, 2018, 01:16:52 am »
The 4708 manual should have the codes, right?
I can't get to it right now...
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 400
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #5 on: February 11, 2018, 01:34:07 am »
here it is
 
The following users thanked this post: acts238willy

Offline acts238willy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #6 on: February 22, 2018, 01:50:17 am »
Just went and looked at my 4708 AC option20 only....

All switches were DOWN?

And, it works fine, AC volts and current.

Switch levers 3 and 6 were marked with black pen,
as was the switch body above them??

Perhaps the board was harvested from a 10, 20, 30 machine?
 

Offline Samogon

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 400
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #7 on: February 22, 2018, 01:54:28 am »
All switches down meansyou have all boards installed and enabled
 
The following users thanked this post: acts238willy

Offline acts238willy

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 40
  • Country: us
Re: Datron 4708 Possible board swapping with 4700, 4705 and 4707??
« Reply #8 on: February 22, 2018, 02:06:06 am »
I just realized that the 'ohms' slot, the blue slot,
is filled with a half-card in the illustration.

Cards from the bottom are black, brown, red,
 orange (the DC board), yellow and green, the AC
boards..
blue, the current and ohms board, with the ohms
trimmer pots in the middle of a full-length card...
and violet, the power amp.

So, the illustration is an AC and DC machine, with NO ohms. (?)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf