Author Topic: Digital oscilloscope as a film prop  (Read 19859 times)

Offline Sid NailsTopic starter

Digital oscilloscope as a film prop
« on: September 08, 2016, 09:48:36 am »
Hi all
I hire out all sorts of electronic film props to the film/movie industry. One fairly frequent requirement is to dress an electronics laboratory film set which I have plenty of experience of having spent most of my working life in such places. Film makers always like "one of those boxes with a green wavy line" as they're very visual. I have various elderly analogue scopes but they're becoming difficult to keep going and of course a monochrome screen no longer looks as hi-tech as the film makers wish. So the time has come to buy at least one modern looking digital scope. Performance, bandwidth, fancy features like FFT etc are not relevant at all as it just needs to look modern with plenty of techie looking front panel detail. As long as it can display waveforms from a connected func gen, noise gen, talky radio station signal or lissajous figures etc then that's normally good enough. I've been looking at the Hantek DSO5072P because it's about the cheapest and appears to have a nice large screen. One absolutely vital requirement though that I've been unable to find out from the blurb, is that it must be possible to switch the device on at the wall and it'll power on with no user interaction so a nice old fashioned mechanically latching power switch is needed, not a soft touch switch that must be pressed each time power has been lost. Our equipment is normally unattended and people on film sets just can't be trusted to find the power switch in a sea of other buttons.