Author Topic: Dr. Thiedig Milli-TO 2, 2 Milliohm to 2 Teraohm Resistance Meter  (Read 6826 times)

Offline popp3rTopic starter

• Supporter
Hello All,

Been learning and lurking for a while and finally have something that may be worth sharing with the forum.

I recently picked up this piece of kit at a small auction earlier in the week.  As the subject line says it is a 'MILLI-TO 2 Dr. Thiedig' resistance meter.  Nobody was bidding on it and all of the gear I was trying to win went above my spending level.  I'm just a hobbyist with a passion for test equipment ... pretty sure nobody knows what I'm talking about.  :o

Anyway, I won the item.  Brought it home and decided to do some research in addition to finding the manual.  Well I can safely say that this must not have been a high volume device or in high demand.  I couldn't find much information on the device other than it was used in a large number of scientific studies and research papers as the device to measure point to point and point to ground resistance measurements.  Right, and there was no manual to be found.

I did happen to see one on ebay with an asking price of US$1250.  Which is substantially more than I paid for it.  Which is good in that regard if I decide to sell it and that asking price is accurate.

The equipment was distributed by Monroe Electronics out of Lyndonville, New York, but you'll notice the device was Made in West Germany by Dr.Thiedig + Co (company still exists, but doesn't look to have archived manuals).   That puts its vintage at prior to 1990.

I've sent Monroe Electronics an email asking if they have a manual in their archives.  If that fails I will send an email, in poorly translated German, to Dr.Thiedig + Co (thiedig.com).

The calibration sticker, already violated, urged me to open'er up.