Author Topic: DS1000z serie unlocking  (Read 19180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline asgard20032

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 184
DS1000z serie unlocking
« on: August 05, 2014, 02:03:40 am »
Ok after some search, I came across this message in the mega thread that we shall not pronounce the name  :scared:
So to save people time, I make this more easily accessible.

Source : http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol's-internal-i2c-bus/msg432125/#msg432125

Thanks to icaro600 for this.

Quote
Use one of the On-Line Keygenerator (you want to use it for DS1000z) at* > 
RigLol keygen: http://riglol.3owl.com
Canadian mirror: http://gotroot.ca/rigol/riglol/
UK mirror: http://rigol.avotronics.co.uk/mirrors/riglol/

Do NOT install 500uV Vertical Sensitivity, as it doesn't work properly (buggy*).  Therefore do NOT use 'DSBA' - 500uV Vertical, or 'DSFR' - all options.

1. Type in your unit's Serial Number.
2. Type in DSER* for all options without the 500┬ÁV. This Option may not be in the Keygen's list, but it will work!
3. Do NOT enter anything for 'Privatekey', it will be inserted automatically for you (based on the DS1000z).
4. Press [GENERATE], and record the resulting Option Code.
5. When you are done enter the Option Code manually in the DS1000z using a single string without using any 'dash' (-) using Rigol's Procedure for activating the Trial Options in the D1000z.  As I recall the procedure is available on Rigol's Web Site under DS1000z.


Hi all, my new DS1074Z has arrived. Applying the procedure of Ted572 using the code DSER all options ok. But the 100MHz increase has no effect, the minimum setting of the time base still in 5us. After unblock all the features I have typed in the key generated with the code DSEA, reset the Rigol but still in 5us.
Any suggestion? Maybe I,m forgot something?

Thanks
 
The following users thanked this post: BravoV

Offline pascal_sweden

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1394
  • Country: no
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2014, 04:07:26 am »
So you don't have to open your unit at all?

Hopefully this also works for MSO1074Z =)
 

Offline asgard20032

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 184
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2014, 04:43:07 am »
From this source : http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol's-internal-i2c-bus/msg484839/#msg484839

Quote
Hello,

I got my MSO1104Z-S today. Even if the Rigol order codes for the options are the same for the DS1000Z and MSO1000Z series,
unfortunately Riglol doesn't work for the MSO1000Z at the moment. The firmware version of the MSO1000Z is also V04.00,
but there must be something different. Different private key, different option code or something like this. I've tried some other
option codes like "MSAB" instead of "DSAB", or "DSBB" or "DSHB" like other models use but I haven't succeeded yet.

Michael
 

Offline eyteam

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2014, 09:24:02 pm »
The SCPI dump will not work with the MSO1074Z Firmware 04.00
« Last Edit: September 11, 2014, 09:29:49 pm by eyteam »
 

Offline pierre288

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2014, 06:40:25 am »
Hi,
just received my MSO1074Z-S...
I tried to add features but did not work either for me.
I have SW version 04.01

Any hope to get a rigol update soon ?

thanks
 

Offline SebG

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 66
  • Country: ca
  • Currently looking for an EE Job
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2014, 08:45:36 am »
Hi. I used the key generator and enabled all the options.  It's fantastic.  I'm, however, wondering how would i deactivate any option? Is it possible?  Also i was curious and activated the 500uV (0.5mV) range which works but with a -500mV (-0.5 V) DC offset on the screen.  How can I deactivate that option?

Thankx

Ps I should mention i have the DS1074Z-S Oscilloscope
« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 08:54:53 am by SebG »
Sebastian
 

Offline iRad

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: us
  • Are you sure it's safe?
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2014, 01:57:30 pm »
Works like a dream...  ;)

Of course, it's still only a 100 MHz Scope. But a 4 Channel, 100 MHz, ALL OPTIONS INSTALLED scope (except 500uV Vertical Sensitivity) for less than $400.00.  8)

Very nice... :-+

« Last Edit: October 06, 2014, 11:15:36 pm by iRad »
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8471
  • Country: 00
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2014, 07:59:40 pm »
Also i was curious and activated the 500uV (0.5mV) range which works but with a -500mV (-0.5 V) DC offset on the screen.  How can I deactivate that option?

Despite all the warnings NOT to?

How can I deactivate that option?

Curiosity killed the cat.

 

Offline alank2

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1918
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2014, 08:57:22 am »
How can I deactivate that option?

You have to issue this command from SCPI over USB:

:SYSTem:OPTion:UNINSTall

Then RESTART before loading any news keys...
 

Offline iRad

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Country: us
  • Are you sure it's safe?
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #9 on: October 17, 2014, 09:11:16 am »

"DSER*" or "DSER"?


Just use DSER and nothing else (may not be listed as one of the keygen options, but it works).

AGAIN - DO NOT NOT USE DSBA for the 500uV Vertical, or DSFR for all options. Save yourself the hassle.
« Last Edit: October 17, 2014, 11:53:09 am by iRad »
 

Offline hobbified

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #10 on: November 17, 2014, 06:23:49 pm »
Following the pattern (letters ABCDEFGHJKLMNPQR map to hex digits 0-F) there should be a feature DSCA between DSBA and DSEA. Has anyone tested what it is? I guess it's probably 70MHz since there's a DS1074Z.
 

Offline sptm14a

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 7
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #11 on: December 03, 2014, 08:22:47 am »
So you don't have to open your unit at all?

Hopefully this also works for MSO1074Z =)
That won't work for MSO. MSO option codes start with CSXX. See the post linked below, it lists all option codes for MSO1074 and explains why you cannot use current riglog. And yes, you will need to open the scope and dump its memory to generate MSO license keys for unlocking.

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol%27s-internal-i2c-bus/msg531876/#msg531876
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4330
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #12 on: December 03, 2014, 09:05:33 am »
So you don't have to open your unit at all?

Hopefully this also works for MSO1074Z =)
That won't work for MSO. MSO option codes start with CSXX. See the post linked below, it lists all option codes for MSO1074 and explains why you cannot use current riglog. And yes, you will need to open the scope and dump its memory to generate MSO license keys for unlocking.

http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol%27s-internal-i2c-bus/msg531876/#msg531876

We do appreciate that you've been working on this, but do you have any plans to release your code that will work on a memory dump?

Many thanks, Howard
 

Offline StevenTodd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #13 on: April 14, 2015, 03:56:37 am »
I tried the site... it shows and ERROR: Private key lenth error.

the private key is not populating.
any ideas?
 

Offline Ardvaark

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #14 on: March 31, 2016, 01:38:06 pm »
DS1054Z, received 03/30/16. DSER verified working with as supplied Software version: 00.04.03.SP2, with as supplied board version of: 0.1.1
Doing a full re-calibration immediately after. :clap:
 

Offline Mechatrommer

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8100
  • Country: my
  • reassessing directives...
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #15 on: March 31, 2016, 03:08:45 pm »
DS1054Z, received 03/30/16. DSER verified working with as supplied Software version: 00.04.03.SP2, with as supplied board version of: 0.1.1
Doing a full re-calibration immediately after. :clap:
congratulation on your upgrade :clap: i guess you are the one on the soasystem's mail ;) :-+
if something can select, how cant it be intelligent? if something is intelligent, how cant it exist?
 

Offline dennis h.

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #16 on: April 01, 2016, 08:13:49 am »
DS1054Z, received 03/30/16. DSER verified working with as supplied Software version: 00.04.03.SP2, with as supplied board version of: 0.1.1
Doing a full re-calibration immediately after. :clap:
congratulation on your upgrade :clap: i guess you are the one on the soasystem's mail ;) :-+

I can attest the the hack still works.  I got mine the 29 th. and similar version and board number.  The first number I tried did not work but used DSER the second time and it worked.

I could not get the archived version to generate any number at all.

Horay Dave!
 

Offline PositiveE

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2016, 05:26:47 am »
Hi folks. I'm really having a tough time with this. After several attempts and "12 hour lockouts" I'm starting to think I'm doing something seriously wrong. I've got a DS1074Z Plus with Board Version 2.1.1 (I haven't seen this version mentioned) and firmware 00.04.03.SP2    Does this Board Version mean a new boot loader? Is it time to break out the SPI tools, or am I just doing something terribly wrong multiple times?  :palm:
 

Offline Fungus

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8471
  • Country: 00
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2016, 05:44:30 am »
Hi folks. I'm really having a tough time with this. After several attempts and "12 hour lockouts" I'm starting to think I'm doing something seriously wrong. I've got a DS1074Z Plus with Board Version 2.1.1 (I haven't seen this version mentioned) and firmware 00.04.03.SP2    Does this Board Version mean a new boot loader? Is it time to break out the SPI tools, or am I just doing something terribly wrong multiple times?  :palm:

The problem might be in the "plus". It's a different beast.
 

Offline Howardlong

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 4330
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #19 on: April 09, 2016, 05:57:34 am »
Hi folks. I'm really having a tough time with this. After several attempts and "12 hour lockouts" I'm starting to think I'm doing something seriously wrong. I've got a DS1074Z Plus with Board Version 2.1.1 (I haven't seen this version mentioned) and firmware 00.04.03.SP2    Does this Board Version mean a new boot loader? Is it time to break out the SPI tools, or am I just doing something terribly wrong multiple times?  :palm:

The problem might be in the "plus". It's a different beast.

Yes, it's my understanding that because the Plus is essentially an MSO1000Z without the physical LA probe, you need to folloow the instructions for the MSO1000Z which will mean opening her up I'm afraid. Depending on your JTAG skills and armory, if you've never done it before, set aside at least half a day.
 

Offline PositiveE

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #20 on: April 09, 2016, 06:38:01 am »
Thanks for the quick answers! The MSO1000Z seems a likely culprit. I'll have to do more research on the JTAG approach. Currently I'm without the tools, but perhaps this is a project for the near future. I'll post results, if someone else doesn't beat me to it first.
 

Offline PositiveE

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #21 on: April 14, 2016, 02:40:53 pm »
Just posting back to confirm success. Indeed the [ DS1074Z Plus ] = [ MSO1000Z ] series. I won't repeat the details here, as there's quite a few people who beat me to it just around the corner. Many thanks goes out to all who contributed. I can't improve upon what is already really good info.

In case you just landed here, check here for more info:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol's-internal-i2c-bus/msg585831/#msg585831
(That's just one of many helpful points. That thread is full of gems.)
 

Offline pvico

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: be
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #22 on: June 04, 2016, 01:22:33 am »
Just posting back to confirm success. Indeed the [ DS1074Z Plus ] = [ MSO1000Z ] series. I won't repeat the details here, as there's quite a few people who beat me to it just around the corner. Many thanks goes out to all who contributed. I can't improve upon what is already really good info.

In case you just landed here, check here for more info:
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/sniffing-the-rigol's-internal-i2c-bus/msg585831/#msg585831
(That's just one of many helpful points. That thread is full of gems.)


Glad to know you succeeded. I have recently purchased a DS1104Z Plus with 00.04.03 SP2 and board 2.1.1 just like you.
I have done the JTAG dump and, using the mso1000z patched rigup 0.4.1, './rigup scan dump file.bin > keyfile.txt' gives an apparently correct keyfile (at least the serial number is correct).
However, the licenses obtained with './rigup license keyfile.txt 0x1C00x' are invalid. They do verify with './rigup info'.

Did you do anything else?
 

Offline PositiveE

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #23 on: June 04, 2016, 03:36:44 am »
It's been awhile.... I think I remember compiling rigup on Linux. I don't think the riglol program worked for me either. There are a few people who mention how to do this, and where the source code is. ...Part of the adventure, I guess.
 

Offline pvico

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: be
Re: DS1000z serie unlocking
« Reply #24 on: June 04, 2016, 04:32:27 am »
It's been awhile.... I think I remember compiling rigup on Linux. I don't think the riglol program worked for me either. There are a few people who mention how to do this, and where the source code is. ...Part of the adventure, I guess.

I did compile as well but on a mac (a hackintosh actually). So from your answer, I guess the answer lies in finding a specific source file. Ok, let's hunt for it.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf