Low Cost PCB's Low Cost Components

Poll

Can you reproduce this bug?

Firmware ver. 4.02 - can reproduce
17 (27.4%)
Firmware ver. 4.02 - can't reproduce
0 (0%)
Firmware ver. 4.03 - can reproduce
8 (12.9%)
Firmware ver. 4.03 - can't reproduce
1 (1.6%)
I don't own a DS1054z, I just want to look at the results. :D
36 (58.1%)

Total Members Voted: 61

Author Topic: DS1054z bug (with poll)  (Read 5053 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Anand

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: 00
DS1054z bug (with poll)
« on: May 22, 2015, 07:36:26 AM »
Input signal: probe compensation 1kHz square wave from the scope
Trigger: DC / CH1 / 1.5V
Aquisition: High Res / 120k mem. depth
Horizontal position: 0ps
Horizontal scale: 50us/div

I get the attached pic.

Firmware version: 4.03 and the bug was present on 4.02.SP4
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 07:40:09 AM by Anand »
trashf.
 

Offline kwass

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 317
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2015, 08:16:54 AM »
Input signal: probe compensation 1kHz square wave from the scope
Trigger: DC / CH1 / 1.5V
Aquisition: High Res / 120k mem. depth
Horizontal position: 0ps
Horizontal scale: 50us/div

I get the attached pic.

Firmware version: 4.03 and the bug was present on 4.02.SP4

Good find, but weird how it has to be exactly those setting on the Aquire menu to see this.  IIRC people of this forum found that High Res mode was useless, so this is yet another reason to never use it.  I've added this to the bug list thread.
-katie
 

Offline Anand

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: 00
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2015, 08:23:43 AM »
Good find, but weird how it has to be exactly those setting on the Aquire menu to see this.  IIRC people of this forum found that High Res mode was useless, so this is yet another reason to never use it.
Well, I've got another bug, that dissapears when High Res is on. I'll post that soon, too.

I've added this to the bug list thread.
Sweet, thanks, I've wanted to do it myself but I didn't know if it was just me experiencing this bug so... I asked around first. :D
« Last Edit: May 22, 2015, 08:30:58 AM by Anand »
trashf.
 

Offline DanielS

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 798
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2015, 11:22:33 AM »
That's a strangely specific bug.

And yes, I got that on my 1054Z too.

This is a strangely specific bug. It works on any channel when the same channel is used as the trigger source and only one channel is enabled at a time.

I probably would never have come across this bug on my own since I practically always use at least two channels and usually limit memory depth to 30-60k points when I save waveforms.
 

Offline miguelvp

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5549
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2015, 11:48:33 AM »
Too bad the poll doesn't have a I don't own a DS1054z so we can look at the results.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1577
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2015, 12:49:47 PM »
Yep,  mine does that too. (firmware 04.02.SP4)

I wonder if "unhacked" scopes do it.
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline evb149

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1568
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2015, 12:54:53 PM »
So the bug is that it shows the trigger point as preceding the displayed edge by a couple of hundred microseconds?
 

Offline kedwards22

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2015, 04:10:06 PM »
I've got a brand new un-hacked scope (still using the trial time) and it has the bug.
 

Offline Anand

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 36
  • Country: 00
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2015, 05:22:38 PM »
Too bad the poll doesn't have a I don't own a DS1054z so we can look at the results.

Fixed. :D
trashf.
 

Offline dom0

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1373
  • Country: de
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2015, 07:34:13 PM »
So the bug is that it shows the trigger point as preceding the displayed edge by a couple of hundred microseconds?

Yep
,
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1577
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2015, 01:55:30 AM »
Seventy-five microseconds, actually,  IF your horizontal trigger position is on the center graticule marker. Less if the trigger position is to the left, more if it is to the right of center. Seems weird that the error should depend on the screen Horizontal Position that way.

And it does it on Trailing Edge and Both Edges trigger slope settings as well.

« Last Edit: May 23, 2015, 02:04:29 AM by alsetalokin4017 »
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1577
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2015, 02:12:52 AM »
In Horizontal Zoom mode it's even stranger.

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline Jeroen3

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2454
  • Country: nl
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2015, 04:12:32 AM »
Confirmed in DS1104Z-S. Only in High-Res mode though.
Could it be because 125MSa/s / 120 kpts = 1.04166666......?
« Last Edit: May 27, 2015, 04:32:30 AM by Jeroen3 »
 

Offline rolycat

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1075
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #13 on: June 01, 2015, 07:43:51 PM »
Too bad the poll doesn't have a I don't own a DS1054z so we can look at the results.

Fixed. :D

Why not just click the "View Results" button below the poll?
 

Online Psi

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6201
  • Country: nz
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #14 on: June 01, 2015, 08:26:33 PM »
Its so specific that it could be a debug test that someone forgot to wrap with #ifdef debug
Greek letter 'Psi' (not Pounds per Square Inch)
 

Online jadew

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 312
  • Country: ro
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2015, 10:08:39 PM »
I get this on the DS1104Z.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1577
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2015, 12:02:58 AM »
Has anyone who is running the latest 1000 series firmware version 04.03 tried this test to see if the bug is still there?
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Online ebastler

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1153
  • Country: de
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #17 on: June 02, 2015, 02:42:35 AM »
Has anyone who is running the latest 1000 series firmware version 04.03 tried this test to see if the bug is still there?
Well, according to the poll above, 3 people have tried it and have all reproduced the error.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1577
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #18 on: June 02, 2015, 02:49:50 AM »
Has anyone who is running the latest 1000 series firmware version 04.03 tried this test to see if the bug is still there?
Well, according to the poll above, 3 people have tried it and have all reproduced the error.

Duh... insert embarrassed smiley here ... Thanks....

Does anyone know what the 04.03 firmware actually _does_ fix (or change) then?
The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: at
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #19 on: September 23, 2015, 07:08:03 PM »
Hello,
it is a very special bug!
I can reproduce also in Version 00.04.03.SP1
BUT
ONLY at 120kpts & H=50┬Ás
AND depends on the position of T !!!
See attached pictures.
 

Offline Karel

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 968
  • Country: 00
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #20 on: September 24, 2015, 04:51:19 AM »
Yep, same here with latest firmware.
But only when one channel is switched on. When switching on multiple channels, the phenomena disappears.
The difference between theory and practice is less in theory than
the difference between theory and practice in practice.
Expensive tools cannot compensate for lack of experience.
 

Offline ankerwolf

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 47
  • Country: at
Re: DS1054z bug (with poll)
« Reply #21 on: September 24, 2015, 05:17:45 AM »
But only when one channel is switched on. When switching on multiple channels, the phenomena disappears.
That is right, because of the Mem.Depth is NOT 120k !
(And the bug ist only at 120k pts)
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf