Author Topic: DS1054Z noise  (Read 314 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online bd139

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
DS1054Z noise
« on: August 05, 2017, 08:00:10 AM »
I've recently got my hands on a DS1054Z and am slowly learning how to use it. One of the things I've noticed is that there is a lot of noise as pictured below. I have terminated Channel 4 with a 50 ohm terminator (just to be sure!) here, grounded it in the UI and there's still a ton of it:



Is this normal?

It's the same on all channels for ref and BW limit doesn't make any difference.
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9194
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2017, 08:05:11 AM »
Normal.

If you want to properly investigate a signal on a scope (any scope) be sure to trigger on the channel of interest and set the trigger within the amplitude of the waveform.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Online bd139

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2017, 08:07:07 AM »
Normal makes me happy :)

I can't trigger on this. I have tried (on channel 1 where the trigger is set for ref!).
 

Offline tautech

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 9194
  • Country: nz
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2017, 08:13:41 AM »
Normal makes me happy :)

I can't trigger on this. I have tried (on channel 1 where the trigger is set for ref!).
You need be aware that on 10x settings on these scopes where actually the scope is set to 1mV/div there is an internal computed magnification of IIRC 5mV/div and the internal noise is amplified to what you see on the display.

There are detailed posts about it somewhere on the forum.
Avid Rabid Hobbyist & NZ Siglent Distributor
 

Online bd139

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2017, 08:15:14 AM »
That makes perfect sense now. Thank you.
 

Offline alsetalokin4017

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 1562
  • Country: us
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #5 on: August 05, 2017, 08:16:10 AM »
Quote
I can't trigger on this.

Sure you can. Select "Single" from the top righthand button, then in the Trigger section press "force".

The easiest person to fool is yourself. -- Richard Feynman
 

Online bd139

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #6 on: August 05, 2017, 08:21:31 AM »
Didn't think of that! I have actually used the single shot trigger as well so chalk one down to idiot user. This is the first modern digital scope I've been near and I've only had about 2 hours time with it since it arrived this morning :)

I've changed it to 1x, terminated it, grounded it and measured noise which is a more reasonable 720uV which is spot on and in line with my old analogue unit:



Thanks all - much appreciated.
 

Online MattSR

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 56
  • Country: au
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #7 on: August 05, 2017, 08:39:38 PM »
Sorry - I didn't quite follow how to get a result of 720uV - I see the signal is about half a vertical division high, on the 1x and 1mv settings...
 

Online bd139

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 234
  • Country: gb
Re: DS1054Z noise
« Reply #8 on: August 05, 2017, 09:14:13 PM »
See amplitude measurement at the bottom of the graticule.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf

 

http://opalkelly.com/