Low Cost PCB's Low Cost Components

Author Topic: DS2000 serial decode noob - doesn't read right  (Read 1169 times)

Offline Circlotron

• Frequent Contributor
DS2000 serial decode noob - doesn't read right
« on: September 24, 2015, 02:54:02 PM »
Trying to decode a serial line with the DS2000. Total noob with this function. As per the attached screenshot the data after the start bit (cursor location) L>R is 10111111 but the decode bizzo shows it as 00111111.  Tried various settings. What's going on here?

Offline Circlotron

• Frequent Contributor
Re: DS2000 serial decode noob - doesn't read right
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2015, 03:09:30 PM »
Okay, this is with normal polarity and MSB Endian. Makes a bit more sense.
Previously was inverted and LSB Endian.

Offline Electro Fan

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2015, 03:28:24 PM »
You are close - stick with normal polarity and go back to LSB.

Make sure you have this:

http://www.ascii-code.com/

Make a test text file in a simple text editor on your PC.

If the PC has a RS232 serial port use your scope probe to connect to the TX and GND pins on the port.

Use a terminal program on your PC to set up the parameters (speed, # bits, stop bit, parity, etc.).  Make sure to turn off (hardware) flow control.  Transfer/Send the text file (if you make the file long enough and send it at a low speed like 2400bps you will have plenty of time to twiddle with your scope settings).   

Set your scope for the same parameters, including normal polarity and LSB.  Start with ASCII on the decoder (vs. Binary or Hex or Decimal.  ASCII characters are easy to recognize/read).  Once the characters read properly (in ASCII) change to Binary and then you will have confidence that the Binary is correct (plus you can confirm it with the ASCII Table).

Have fun.