Author Topic: DSO recommendation <= 650 EUR  (Read 2459 times)

Offline oerg866Topic starter

• Contributor
DSO recommendation <= 650 EUR
« on: October 19, 2018, 09:53:46 pm »
Hi there,

I'm a student looking to actually get a decent workbench setup for developing and repairing electronics. I have a 1979 Philips PM3264 100MHz 4ch analog oscilloscope which has a lot of flaws, needed several replaced capacitors and is actually awful for anything digital. But hey - it works! But I did occasionally have to borrow my good friend's Rigol.

I've got a bit of money saved up for just this purpose which amounts to 650 Euros (about 750 USD). I live in Germany if anyone can reccomend somewhere to buy one.

Features my wildest fantasies include are:

* 200MHz bandwidth
* 4 channels
* Integrated reasonably accurate digital multimeter, I'd like to measure true RMS AC voltages in video gear (PAL SDTV stuffs).
* Spectrum analyzer for audio purposes (Maybe 200KHz bandwidth?)
* Ability to record input for a short time at least and transfer over to PC
* Remote controllable via PC
* VGA or DVI/HDMI video output that I can connect to my capture card <-- This is optional as I've seen hardly any scopes have it.
* Probes included
* Some sort of provisions for function generator and logic analyzer maybe?

Tell me if some of these ideas are too wild for my budget. I haven't owned a DSO before.

I have no problem with buying used, if it can save me some cash.

I also have no problem with buying a cheaper model which can then be unlocked to the specifications I want.

I have been looking at a Siglent SDS1104X-E. I'd like to software unlock it to 200MHz. People seem to like it but I don't want to jump on it and rather hear what some more experienced users have to say.

Best regards,
Eric

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: DSO recommendation <= 650 EUR
« Reply #1 on: October 19, 2018, 10:30:59 pm »