Author Topic: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer  (Read 7235 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« on: October 25, 2015, 05:57:49 pm »
I recently bought an HP/Agilent/Keysight 8714C network analyzer. There were three optional features that needed keys to be enabled. 

-LAN(network) port
-Ibasic control
-SRL fault detection

Software only features just beg to be enabled right?

Now I have no idea how to generate the keys but instead found some information on changing an HP 8711 to an HP8712, in that document they detail how to enable the extra features. You can find that document here: http://www.ko4bb.com/manuals/216.113.200.6/HP_HP871x_network_analyzer_Other-howtoconvertanhp8711atoanhp8712a.pdf

The 8714C is very similar but not quite the same, I decided to experiment a little and wanted to share the values to change for others who may wish to do the same.

My 8714C has an AMD 28F020 flash memory which stores the bootloader as well as the option features. It is a socketed PLCC 32 chip on the main CPU.

If you remove the chip and read it you will see the bootloader at the beginning and the programmed features, your serial # etc at the end. When a feature is enabled a new entry is  programmed/added to the flash. The first entry starts at the end of the flash and each new entry is above it. It seems they do this so no data ever needs to be erased. It is also why on the option entry menu screen they document how many more changes you can make. When you run out flash space you can't enable any more features. The number seems to be above 200 - there are only a few options so I doubt anyone has ever run out of space.

The entry that needs to be modified is it the newest one which will be furthest from the end of the flash. My machine had no options enabled by default but still had a few entries. Each entry had additional information added such as serial #, mac address, etc and was clearly the factory programming each feature - one at a time.

The mod is so simple I don't think I need to include an actual screen shot from my hex editor.

The entry further from the end of the flash should look like this(in decimal):
!\C87*C.........US38060349. ..0060B08785C2. 
In my case US38060349 is my serial #.
You simply want to change the 4 bytes before your serial # to all zeroes. Once that is done program the flash memory and put it back in your 8714C and you will have every possible software option enabled. This will not enable the options that also require hardware such as the attenuator and AM delay. It will also not suddenly convert your 50 ohm unit to a 75 ohm unit.

Have fun - these machines are ~20 years old but were built to last.

Variations of this mod should work for the entire 8711, 8712, 8714 family.

edit - added some pics of a 2.4 GHz skew planar antenna I made to experiment with the analyzer. My target frequency was 2440 MHz, I got pretty darn close.

Further edit - here is a different link to k04bb's website which has very useful service information for this series of analyzers:
http://www.ko4bb.com/manuals/index.php?dir=HP_Agilent/HP_871x_Network_Analyzer
« Last Edit: October 26, 2015, 05:28:06 am by TheSteve »
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: msliva, N8AUM, bitseeker, Tony_G

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3885
  • Country: de
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #1 on: October 25, 2015, 07:12:03 pm »
I do not have a network analyzer but one day I will.
So, thank you for this information that I will store away.

But your pdf link above is dead.
Can you attach the pdf here?

Thanks for your great work.
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2015, 05:26:40 am »
The link still works for me, maybe try it again. The site has a lot of useful information on this series of network analyzers so I will add another link
VE7FM
 

Offline G0HZU

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2576
  • Country: gb
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #3 on: October 26, 2015, 05:50:56 am »
That's a useful link thanks :)

I have an old 8714B here that I've owned for many years and it's good to see that they are releasing detailed CLIP info for these old VNAs.

I was lucky in that I bought an ex rental unit and it came with lots of options and lots of external stuff too including the external two port switching test set and external detector probes and various precision RF cables etc. It all came in a couple of HP flight cases.

It has the AM delay, the attenuator, the SRL and HP BASIC options fitted.

I don't think I have the LAN option though...not sure if LAN offers something I can exploit but the link to those CLIP files has made my day. Thanks! :)
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #4 on: October 26, 2015, 06:02:18 am »
They are a great series of analyzers - quick and easy to use. They also use N connectors on the front, nice for the home user who doesn't want to buy APC7 adapters.

Also they are very serviceable and easy to take apart - you have to love a product that has complete instructions to take it apart on the bottom of the unit. It even says which sizes of screwdrivers you'll require.

I wish more hardware was built to this standard.
VE7FM
 

Offline G0HZU

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2576
  • Country: gb
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #5 on: October 26, 2015, 06:09:51 am »
I especially like the quality of the CRT display. Despite its age and fairly heavy use my CRT is still crisp and clear with no burn and the Smith Chart graphics are very detailed with good display resolution on the trace data.

When I do upgrade to something newer/faster with full 2 port capability I will miss the display quality and the ease of use of this VNA.
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #6 on: November 03, 2015, 04:43:13 pm »
Just a little follow up to my post. I decided to try playing with the ethertwist function today(standard 10baseT lan). First I configured the hard copy button to output to my Samsung printer which is on my network. The Samsung printer happily accepted the RAW data on port 9100 and printed a very nice screen shot.

If I telnet to the 8714C I get the SCPI parser which is kind of expected. I think the biggest surprise is when I went to the network analyzers IP address in a browser. Low and behold there is actually a web server built into this sucker! Not only does it have detailed HTML help files but you can easily save color screen shots.
It also accepts FTP connections and it looks like I can transfer files such config, cal data and screen shots.

Moral of the story -  using the hack posted above to enable the LAN feature is certainly worth it.
VE7FM
 

Offline HighVoltage

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3885
  • Country: de
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #7 on: November 03, 2015, 09:23:26 pm »
Thanks for the update, very interesting information.

It looks like yours has a color screen or is that just from the screen capture?
The one I see on ebay US has a monochrome screen, it seems.
Are there two different types of HP 8714C around?
Or was the color screen an option?
 
There are 3 kinds of people in this world, those who can count and those who can not.
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #8 on: November 04, 2015, 04:43:10 am »
They all have the standard green screen. The 8714x series all have 640x480 VGA out though and provide some basic color(that you can customize) to the VGA port.
I have ordered an 8.4 inch 640x480 LCD panel with VGA driver board that I plan to install in place of the green monitor. Assuming it all works out you will see the details of the install here. I think it will work out great though and the panel/driver etc were only 80 bucks shipped.
VE7FM
 

Offline G0HZU

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2576
  • Country: gb
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #9 on: November 07, 2015, 02:37:56 am »
I had a look at the back of my 8714B today and noticed a couple of things that may be of interest to people looking to buy one of these analysers.

My 8714B doesn't have a LAN port so I guess this is a new feature for the C version. Also mine doesn't have a 15 pin VGA connector at the back either. However, it does have a basic (mono) video out connector.

Looking a the options sticker mine has six options fitted. I think some are internal SW options, some require internal hardware and some require external hardware. Mine came with a load of external cables and some RF detector heads and a two port switching test set as part of the options.

 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #10 on: November 07, 2015, 04:47:53 am »
Yes, it seems the C/ET/ES versions have LAN and VGA out. There are two hardware based options - AM Delay and the attenuator, the others are software based. Well technically there is a third option - 75 ohm impedance - those units generally go cheap.
VE7FM
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #11 on: August 02, 2016, 11:57:43 pm »
Hi Steve, I am a retired ham with my principle toy being an HP8713C analyser. I plan to upgrade it from a scaler to a vector analyzer using the method published by Massimo. Following which it will also be nice if a can activate all its options. Do you perhaps have a copy of the ROM of your HP8714C and if so, would it be possible to provide me with a copy?? 73

 

Offline Tony_G

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 508
  • Country: us
  • Checkout my old test gear channel (link in sig)
    • TGSoapbox
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #12 on: August 03, 2016, 06:55:23 am »
I have an 8714C but not with the LAN option turned on - Before I go out and buy a programmer just for this, does anyone know if there is a keygen or equivalent?

TonyG

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #13 on: August 03, 2016, 01:56:05 pm »
Hi Steve, I am a retired ham with my principle toy being an HP8713C analyser. I plan to upgrade it from a scaler to a vector analyzer using the method published by Massimo. Following which it will also be nice if a can activate all its options. Do you perhaps have a copy of the ROM of your HP8714C and if so, would it be possible to provide me with a copy?? 73

Not a problem - the 28F020 images have been attached - my original and the patched version with the options enabled.

If you need any assistance please post or PM.
I have also converted a 8711B to an 8712B to enable the full vector options.
VE7FM
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #14 on: August 03, 2016, 09:45:53 pm »
Steve, You made my day. Thank you  ;D

Tony_G, I read somewhere that HP did provide a means of burning an HP87.. ROM 'in situ' but not sure if it operated via an app stored on a floppy or via a controling PC with HP-IB.
 

Offline Tony_G

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 508
  • Country: us
  • Checkout my old test gear channel (link in sig)
    • TGSoapbox
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2016, 12:33:33 am »
ZA6GST - Thanks for the reply.

The machine can have it's firmware updated via the floppy drive but I haven't seen anything about doing it with a generic ROM image (as compared to whatever format the LIF based updater uses).

If you ever remember where you saw that, please shoot me the info.

Thanks,

TonyG

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2016, 02:46:14 am »
I haven't come across any key software or flashing software - it wouldn't surprise me if both exist though.
If you do buy a programmer I can recommend the TL866, that is what I have been using.
VE7FM
 

Offline Tony_G

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 508
  • Country: us
  • Checkout my old test gear channel (link in sig)
    • TGSoapbox
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #17 on: August 20, 2016, 02:37:02 am »
Just got back from a conference and my programmer was delivered. Hooked it up and made the change and it all works nicely now. Can see the web page, prints in color to my PCL6 printer. Excellent.

Hardest thing was working out how to get the el cheapo Chinese IC extractor to grab the IC.

TheSteve - Thank you very much for your work on this.

TonyG

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2018, 07:32:47 am »
I have 8713B and going to update to 9714B :)
Finally a have time to "hack" this guy.

Some photos at beginning:
 
 
The following users thanked this post: rogermanlleu

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2018, 07:58:57 am »
Very nice! Looks like it will appreciate a good cleaning.
VE7FM
 
The following users thanked this post: BFX

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2018, 08:03:49 am »
Very nice! Looks like it will appreciate a good cleaning.
For sure, and also check power supply capacitors and visual inspect of boards.
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #21 on: February 12, 2018, 03:59:26 am »
Here is my boot rom content its little bit different from others what do you suggest?
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #22 on: February 12, 2018, 04:13:25 am »
What happens if you change address 01FF8F from BF to FB ?
VE7FM
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #23 on: February 12, 2018, 04:29:08 am »
I didn't try yet because I was so surprised to do this in this way.
 
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #24 on: February 12, 2018, 04:31:48 am »
Also your suggestion is little bit not clear for me .
"The entry further from the end of the flash should look like this(in decimal):
!\C87*C.........US38060349. ..0060B08785C2. 
In my case US38060349 is my serial #.
You simply want to change the 4 bytes before your serial # to all zeroes. Once that is done program the flash memory and put it back in your 8714C and you will have every possible software option enabled."

There is to change to zeroes an now you wrote to put FB.
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #25 on: February 12, 2018, 04:38:06 am »
Sorry, I was thinking of something else and it is too early in the morning for me.
Try changing the 4 bytes before the serial # to 00 00 00 00 and see what happens. - 01ff8e though 01ff91
VE7FM
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #26 on: February 14, 2018, 05:49:36 am »
Sorry, I was thinking of something else and it is too early in the morning for me.
Try changing the 4 bytes before the serial # to 00 00 00 00 and see what happens. - 01ff8e though 01ff91

Thank you so much it's working great  :-+
Now I need to cleanup this guy because whole case is dirty and somehow sticky.
Do you have already installed color display instead of CRT?

« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 06:01:24 am by BFX »
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #27 on: February 14, 2018, 06:08:44 am »
I installed an LCD but it was very easy for my model as it has  a regular VGA output.
VE7FM
 

Offline BFX

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 299
  • Country: sk
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #28 on: February 15, 2018, 05:41:15 am »
Cleaning in progress  8) (its work like rebuild a church)

 

Offline VT7

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: de
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #29 on: August 01, 2018, 04:10:11 am »
Hi!

i have now downloaded the firmware from the Flashroms to change the chips and try to upgrade the Firmware within beeing able to revert.
for anyone who needs it, it is posted below.

The Machine works as well as with AMD 28F020 Flashes. I did change them because i could not find any INTEL for a reasonable price.
My AMD Flashes are now from Aliexpress :D 20 pieces for something below 20€ shipping included.


have fun with the files..
« Last Edit: August 01, 2018, 04:11:57 am by VT7 »
 
The following users thanked this post: BFX

Online TK

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 742
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #30 on: August 27, 2018, 09:32:22 am »
I just purchased a broken 8714C unit that has BOOTROM Version C.01 and it is checking for BOOTROM checksum and when I change the 4 bytes to 0 to enable all the options, the unit gives checksum error.  Has anyone experienced the same issue?

The exact error message:

Bad Checksum table at 0x00000c01 byte offset 0x0c

EDIT: Never mind... My Flash programmer did something wrong while reading the original BOOTROM, so when I modified and re-programmed it, it changed some extra unexpected bytes.  I programmed using the 8714C bootrom image that was posted by TheSteve and everything is working fine now.  All options enabled.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2018, 10:28:11 am by TK »
 
The following users thanked this post: BFX

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #31 on: October 19, 2018, 02:24:20 am »
I have been looking out for a 1F7 LAN option for my HP8713C for a long time and wonder if anyone knows were I can source one or has a picture of it that I can look at?

I would also like to know if there is any need to store calibration constants prior to upgrading the boot rom?
 

Online TK

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 742
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #32 on: October 19, 2018, 02:37:02 am »
I have been looking out for a 1F7 LAN option for my HP8713C for a long time and wonder if anyone knows were I can source one or has a picture of it that I can look at?

I would also like to know if there is any need to store calibration constants prior to upgrading the boot rom?
The LAN option is a software option and can enabled by following the instructions on this same thread.  It is a safe practice to save the calibration constants (I think it is called correction constants) to floppy disk before upgrading the firmware.  It is erased during the process and the firmware update process asks for the CC from floppy after installing the new firmware.
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #33 on: October 19, 2018, 07:57:37 pm »
Tnx for the reply.

My HP8713C does not have a LAN connector. This led me to believe that this option lives on a plug in card :'(
 
A further concern is the stiffy drive. So far, mine works OK but stiffy drives seem to have limited life spans and the HP versions are non standard. Sourcing reliable media is also problematic. As such, I would love to replace the drive with a USB port and wonder if any one has done so with success.
 

Online TK

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 742
  • Country: us
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #34 on: October 19, 2018, 11:41:54 pm »
Tnx for the reply.

My HP8713C does not have a LAN connector. This led me to believe that this option lives on a plug in card :'(
 
A further concern is the stiffy drive. So far, mine works OK but stiffy drives seem to have limited life spans and the HP versions are non standard. Sourcing reliable media is also problematic. As such, I would love to replace the drive with a USB port and wonder if any one has done so with success.
Floppy drive on the 8713C is an EPSON SD-300 or SD-1300 and it is standard 3.5inch floppy drive.  Are you sure you have the 8713C model?  Do you mind posting some photos of the unit (front, back)?

Also the 8713C can be software upgraded to the full VNA 8714C using the information on this thread
 

Online TheSteve

  • Supporter
  • ****
  • Posts: 2584
  • Country: ca
  • GHz or bust
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #35 on: October 20, 2018, 03:33:42 am »
The unit must be an A/B model, if it was a C it would have a network port.
VE7FM
 

Offline rfdes

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: us
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #36 on: October 22, 2018, 12:36:48 am »


Hi guys...

I just noticed this thread.  About 7 years ago I managed to reverse engr the HP Unix firmware code and created a keygen that would enable all of the option features for this series of analyzers.  In fact the code is essentially the same as the 8753 analyzers which was ported to the 871? analyzers.  The features can be enabled from the front panel and you don't need to program proms, etc.

Private message me with the serial number of your analyzer and I would be happy to help you out.  Please don't ask for a copy of the keygen tool, I will not give it out and please don't abuse the offer.  I've had some people, who own a stack of these analyzers, ask for the enable keys so that they can increase their resell value.  That upsets me.  This offer is only for those of us who love the art of electronics and are not trying to generate a quick $.

Jim
 
The following users thanked this post: TheSteve

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #37 on: October 23, 2018, 01:27:50 am »
TK and TheSteve,

Thanks for pointing out the error of my imagination. The start menu must have blinded me with the power of suggestion as to the existence of a LAN Connector on my HP 8713C  :-[  It indeed has a LAN connector :clap:

And to add to my joy, "rfdes" has just posted an equally exciting offer.

73 ZS6GST
 

Offline ZS6GST

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: za
Re: Enable those extra features on your HP 8714C network analyzer
« Reply #38 on: November 08, 2018, 01:02:43 am »
Does anyone perhaps know the difference between Firmware revision: C.04.50 (in my analyser) and Firmware revision: C.04.52 that is available on the Agilent web site)?

73 de ZS6GST
 
« Last Edit: November 08, 2018, 01:06:58 am by ZS6GST »
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf