Author Topic: Fluke 117 DC Volts Problem  (Read 1971 times)

Offline TonyMitchellTopic starter

Fluke 117 DC Volts Problem
« on: April 09, 2019, 05:10:22 pm »
Hi, newbie here.
My 117 is behaving peculiarly when set to DC volts.
I have a known 22V DC source, which the 117 measures correctly using the LoZ Auto-V setting
However when set to DC volts, the Auto mode, it scales to 600 and displays OL with the bar graph fully populated
Similarly, when set to Manual, irrespective of whether range is set to 6, 60 or 600, the display is OL and the bar graph fully populated (which should only be in this state when set to 6, when connected to a 22V source)
Any ideas?

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
Re: Fluke 117 DC Volts Problem
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2019, 06:38:03 pm »
If you measure a 1.5AA cell, what do you get with the meter set on DCV auto and 6 manual range?  Is it 1.5 or 0L?

What is your 22V source?

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2019, 07:12:54 pm »
Hi retiredcaps,

A 1.5V cell reads correctly on both the numerics and bar graph, in DC Auto and all 3 manual ranges.
The 22V source is a fly killer.   It reads correctly on LoZ Auto-V but I cannot get a meaningful reading when set to DCV, either auto or manual

Offline retiredcaps

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2019, 07:49:00 pm »
The 22V source is a fly killer.
Link to product or manual or more details?

Offline Fungus

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2019, 08:01:37 pm »
It reads correctly on LoZ Auto-V but I cannot get a meaningful reading when set to DCV, either auto or manual

Maybe it's AC.

Offline JDubU

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2019, 08:04:07 pm »
Not going to zap a fly with 22V.
Maybe the 22V source has some high Z, high voltage superimposed on it?  The low Z input mode of the Fluke 117 might be dropping the superimposed high voltage down close to zero, via the high z of its source.

The following users thanked this post: tooki, TonyMitchell

Offline Fungus