Author Topic: Fluke 5x-II series thermometer tear-down and hacks  (Read 17897 times)

Offline TiNTopic starter

• Super Contributor
    • xDevs.com
Fluke 5x-II series thermometer tear-down and hacks
« on: February 08, 2014, 11:58:26 am »
Decided to repost this stuff from other forum. I was used to do extreme PC overclocking years ago, using
liquid nitrogen to cool computer CPUs and graphic cards GPUs to raise clock and speed margins :)
It's kinda fun, and involves a lot of stuff, which is outside of usual engineering scope. If
anyone interested here is link to LN2 gear review with practical bits.

This hobby required to have good thermometers, able to measure LN2 temps (-196c) and anything in between ambient.
Choosing and buying nice subzero thermometer is always not simple task, specially if you have lack of funds.
I was a student those years, so 100$ was a big deal that time :).  Advanced and precise reference meters cost insane, industrial have lack of range, cheapo devices less that 100$ are total crap for subzero. But some devices are real good and sometimes affordable, like Fluke 51, 52 and newer 51 II and 52 II meters. Some of them go from ebay with mere 200-300 USD.

I got that time few semi-broken Fluke 51 II thermometers, single-input one model.
Have some possibility and ideas how to improve it by modification to more expensive models with more features. :D

Let me tell full story here. Excuse my english, as this guide was written originally 4 years ago, and that's not my native language :)